HomeCricketNewsPCB announced Pakistan squad for Asia Cup 2024; Nida Dar named captain

PCB announced Pakistan squad for Asia Cup 2024; Nida Dar named captain

Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2024: Pakistan Cricket Board have named Nida Dar as the captain of the Pakistan squad for Asia Cup 2024 set to be played between July 19 and 28. Sri Lanka holds the hosting rights of the 2024 Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup where a total of 15 matches will be played between eight participating teams.

Nida Dar to Captain Pakistan in Asia Cup 2024

Pakistan along with India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka qualified for the tournament under the “ICC full membership” category.

In the previous edition of the tournament, Pakistan qualified for the knock-out stage but lost the semi-final game against Sri Lanka and faced a narrow one-run defeat, knock out of the tournament.

Fatima Sana who missed the 2022 Asia Cup owing to a twisted ankle was added to the squad while her replacement at that time – Nashra Sundhu was also included in the squad.

Uncapper player Tasmia Rubab is one of the notable inclusion in the Pakistan squad for Asia Cup 2024. Rubab was included in the squad following her performance in the National Women’s One-Day Tournament 2023-24.

She took 12 wickets for the Multan side in the tournament. Rubab’s performance in the National Women’s T20 Tournament 2023-24 adds weightage to her selection as she picked four wickets at an economy rate of 6.36.

As per Women’s Asia Cup 2024 schedule, Pakistan will play their first match of the tournament against their arch-rival India on July 19 in Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla. Nida Dar and Co. will depart for Sri Lanka on July 16 after undergoing a training camp that kicks off on July 5 in Karachi.

Muhammad Wasim has been named as the head coach of the team which includes Abdur Rehman (spin bowling coach), Junaid Khan (assistant coach – bowling) and Hanif Malik (assistant coach, fielding).

Pakistan Asia Cup Squad 2024

Nida Dar (c), Aliya Riaz, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Iram Javed, Muneeba Ali, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Syeda Aroob Shah, Tasmia Rubab, Tuba Hassan.

ALSO READ: Chamari Athapaththu to Lead Sri Lanka Squad in Women’s Asia Cup 2024

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read