HomeCricketNewsChamari Athapaththu to Lead Sri Lanka Squad in Women's Asia Cup 2024

Chamari Athapaththu to Lead Sri Lanka Squad in Women’s Asia Cup 2024

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2024 set to be started in July.

Chamari Athapaththu to Lead Sri Lanka Women’s Asia Cup 2024 Squad

The SLC has named the women’s squad captained by Chamari Athapaththu for the Women’s Asia Cup. Players like Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodani, Kawya Kavindi, Kaveesha Dilhari, and Inoshi Priyadarshani who are playing in the West Indies Women’s tour of Sri Lanka have been named in the squad.

Sri Lanka Women were the runners in the previous edition of the Women’s Asia Cup played in Bangladesh after getting defeated by India women by 8 wickets difference. They won four of six matches in the initial stages of the tournament and played the semi-finals against Pakistan women to win the match by 1 run.

Unlike the previous tournament where all teams played against each other before the semis, the teams have been divided into two groups with India, Nepal, Pakistan, and UAE in Group A while the hosts Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia, and Thailand in Group B.

Like the last edition, all the matches will feature an all-female team of umpires and match officials. With the conclusion of the Asia Cup, the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 will start in Bangladesh played between October 3 and 20.

The first match of the Women’s Asia Cup will be played between UAE Women and Nepal on July 19, Sri Lanka Women will play their first match against Bangladesh women on July 20 at Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

Initially, the first game was scheduled to be played between Nepal and Pakistan with India and UAE playing in the second game on July 21. But the change in the fixtures has led to India and Pakistan women clashing in the second match of the tournament.

Currently, they are playing in a home tour against West Indies where the hosts won the ODI series 3-0 and equalled 1-1 in the T20 series with two matches completed. The third T20I will be played on June 28 at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium.

Sri Lanka Women’s Squad for Asia Cup 2024

Chamari Athapaththu (c), Vishmi Gunaratne, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeewani, Sugandika Kumari, Udeshika Prabodhani, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoshi Priyadharshani, Kawya Kavindi, Sachini Nisansala, Shashini Gimhani, Ama Kanchana

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read