HomeCricketNewsPakistan debut on Road Safety Series 2023

Pakistan debut on Road Safety Series 2023

Pakistan is set to make its debut on the third edition Road Safety World Series which is likely to be scheduled in early September.

Pakistan debut on Road Safety World Series 2023

The road safety World Series, a T20 league involving former international stars, is set to feature a team from Pakistan for the first time when the third season will be played in September this year.

The league has been played in India so far but the coming season will be held in England.

The dates for the third season are not finalized yet and it is known that the league will be played from September for three weeks. Nine teams are set to participate in the upcoming edition of the league which is higher when compared to the last edition.

The first season was played across 2020 and 2021. Owing to the Covid-19 pandemic, the second season was played in 2022.

Due to the political tension between the governments of India and Pakistan, the neighbouring country has not featured in the first three seasons played in India.

The first season was launched in March 2020 and had teams from India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, and Australia but the competition was reduced to just four games due to the pandemic.

The remaining games resumed in March 2021 in Raipur, Australia pulled out because of Covid-19-related restrictions and were replaced by Bangladesh and England.

The second season was played in Dehradun and Raipur in September 2022 with an eighth team – New Zealand joining along with the return of Australia. Both editions of the tournament saw the India Legends team beat Sri Lanka Legends in the final in Raipur.

The tournament has seen some former ODI and T20 World Cup champions such as Sachin Tendulkar, Kevin Pietersen, Sanath Jayasuriya, Shane Watson, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Yuvraj Singh, along with Brian Lara, Jonty Rhodes, Shane Bond, and many others.

There could see a vintage clash between India and Pakistan, where Indian cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar will be featuring India. Pakistan is set to make its debut in the 2023 edition of the Road Safety series.

The Road safety series 2023 is said to take place in England during the month of September for three weeks and the reports confirm that England and Wales Cricket Board has given approval.

Road Safety Series Tournament

The Road Safety Series tournament is organized to raise awareness about road safety and features retired players from various countries. There is no confirmation of players that will be participating in the 2023 edition.

Sachin Tendulkar is the brand ambassador of the tournament, while Sunil Gavaskar remains the commissioner. In last year’s edition, players like Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan, and Yusuf Pathan featured India.

Some internationals like Brian Lara, Shane Watson, Brett Lee, Ross Taylor, Shane Bond, Scott Styris, Jonty Rhodes, Lance Klusner, Makhaya Ntini, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Thisara Perera and Chaminda Vaas were in action.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read