HomeCricketNewsMohammad Haris, Asif Afridi Included in Pakistan's ODI Squad for Australia Series

Mohammad Haris, Asif Afridi Included in Pakistan’s ODI Squad for Australia Series

Pakistan’s ODI Squad for Australia Series: Pakistani selectors have named uncapped spinner Asif Afridi and wicketkeeper Mohammad Haris in the white-ball squads for the three ODIs and one-off T20I against Australia which kickstarts from March 29.

All 3 ODI and only T20I match is scheduled to play in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi.

Pakistan’s ODI Squad for Australia Series

Haris was among the breakout stars of PSL 2022, hitting 166 runs in five innings at an average of 33.20 and a strike rate of nearly 187 for Peshawar Zalmi. Haris’ strike rate was the highest by any top-order batter in PSL 2022.

He had made an immediate impact on PSL debut, slamming a match-winning 49 off 27 balls, against Karachi Kings.

Asif Afridi
Asif Afridi

“Left-arm spinner Asif and wicketkeeper/batter Haris have earned the selectors’ nod as result of their impressive performances in the domestic circuit as the selectors have continued to provide opportunities to high-performing players as part of their strategy to increase the pool of top-class cricketers and developing a formidable bench-strength,” said the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a statement.

On the other hand, Mohammad Nawaz, who was withdrawn from the Test series injury, has also been included in the squad. But his selection is subject to a fitness test.

The PCB said that the selectors have included 20 players in the ODI squad and 17 for the only T20I. Abdullah Shafique, Imam-Ul-Haq and Saud Shakeel have not been included in the T20 squad.

Chair of the Selection Committee Muhammad Wasim, while congratulating Asif and Haris, said that their inclusion “is a reward for their hard work and consistent performances in the domestic circuit”.

“Australia are an equally outstanding team in the shorter formats of the game and, as such, we have decided to go with the best available and most experienced players. The four white-ball matches have significant context as the 50-over games count towards the 2023 World Cup qualification and the 20-over will be a repeat of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 semi-final,” said the chief selector.

Pakistan ODI squad

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Asif Afridi, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-Ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir,

Pakistan T20I squad

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Afridi, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

Also read: ICC T20 WC 2022 India vs Pakistan Match Tickets Sold Out in 5 Minutes

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read