HomeCricketNewsMeg Lanning praises RCB on their maiden WPL title; says "they deserved...

Meg Lanning praises RCB on their maiden WPL title; says “they deserved the win”

WPL 2024 runner-up Delhi Capitals Women’s skipper Meg Lanning congrats RCB for winning their maiden WPL title and says “They fought back really nicely and deserved the win“.

Meg Lanning Praises RCB on their Maiden WPL title

Delhi Capitals Women also qualified for the Final match of the last season but ended up as runner-up of the season after failing to beat Mumbai Indians women.

Being finished in the top position in the WPL 2024 points table, Delhi Capitals Women directly qualified for the WPL 2024 final.

On the other hand, Royal Challengers Bangalore qualified for the final match after trashing Mumbai Indians Women in the Eliminator match of the WPL 2024. With a strong performance in the WPL 2024 Eliminator, the RCB women’s team moved to the grand final with a strong mindset.

speaking on the match, Delhi Capitals Women won the toss and opted to bat first. DCW’s opening batters Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma made a strong partnership by building 64 runs for the first wicket.

Molineux drew the first blood by dismissing Shafali Verma for 44 runs. Following her dismissal, Rodrigues and Alice Capsey lost their wickets in the same over without scoring any runs.

Delhi Capitals Women managed to score only 113 runs for 10-wicket loss at the end of 18.3 overs.

Following the consecutive loss in the final game, Meg Lanning said “Obviously disappointing not to get it done. Finals are about playing well on the day. Congratulations to RCB – you outplayed us tonight. It all happened relatively quickly as it tends to do”.

“As we’ve seen in this tournament, crazy things happen. Full credit to RCB, they fought back really nicely and deserved the win. We did a lot right. Unfortunately it wasn’t to be. A lot of effort went from a lot of the people. Want to thank the support staff. Cricket is a funny game – you win some, you lose some”, she added.

Notably, RCB women’s completely dominated the season as they won the Orange Cap, Purple Cap and many other awards.

Ellyse Perry won the Orange Cap of the season while Shreyanka Patil won the Purple Cap of the season. Along with this, Royal Challengers Bangalore Women won the Fair Play award.

CHECKWPL 2024 Award Winners, Prize Amount – Complete List

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read