HomeCricketNewsMen's Ireland Qualify for the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup

Men’s Ireland Qualify for the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup

The men’s Ireland Cricket team qualified for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 scheduled to host by West Indies and the United States right after their match against Germany was abandoned due to rain.

Ireland Qualify for the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup

Ireland’s cricket team has been scheduled to play the 17th match of ICC Mens T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier 2023 against Germany on July 27 at Goldenacre, Edinburgh. But hours before the match start, rain hits the venue and makes it impossible to host the game.

As the rain continues to pour, the match officials abandoned the match and shared the points. Having won their previous four matches, against Italy, Denmark, Austria, and Jersey, Ireland needed just one more win to mathematically ensure qualification.

However, due to today’s abandonment, the points were shared, and Ireland’s passage to the USA and the West Indies next summer was secured.

Paul Stirling, Ireland Men’s captain, said: “While it’s true that we’d rather have achieved qualification on the field today, we’re delighted to have achieved our primary objective of qualifying for next year’s T20 World Cup. We came to Scotland with a clear plan and style of play we wanted to implement, and I think we delivered on that front”.

“So, we’ll celebrate job done this afternoon, but there is a trophy on the line tomorrow and we are keen to continue that winning momentum going into the India T20 series next month.”

CHECKMen’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 Schedule, Venue – Full Details

2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Teams and Qualification

Means of qualification Date Venue Berths Qualified
Hosts Nov-21 2 Australia
2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
(Top 8 teams from the previous tournament)
Nov-22 Australia 8 Australia
New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka
ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings
(Next 2 teams from the rankings)
14-Nov-22 Various 2 Afghanistan
Europe Qualifier 20–28 July 2023 Scotland 2 Ireland
East Asia-Pacific Qualifier 22–29 July 2023 Papua New Guinea 1 TBA
Americas Qualifier 30 September–7 October 2023 Bermuda 1 TBA
Asia Qualifier 30 October–9 November 2023 Nepal 2 TBA
Africa Qualifier 20 November–1 December 2023 Namibia 2 TBA
                                                Total 20
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read