HomeCricketNewsRoad Safety World Series: India Legends Won by 14 Runs

Road Safety World Series: India Legends Won by 14 Runs

India Legends won the Road Safety World Series 2021 by 14 runs to claim the inaugural title to their name.

India won the Road Safety World Series 2021

After two weeks of the most gripping and enthralling action, the Road Safety World Series came down to a battle between the two most dominant sides of the tournament: India and Sri Lanka, where the India Legends won by 14 runs to claim the inaugural title to their name.

All-rounder Yusuf Pathan smashed an unbeaten 62 and picked 2/26 with the ball. Yuvraj Singh too slammed his half-century to see India Legends put up a challenging total of 181/4 in 20 overs.

India legends vs Sri Lanka Legends 

India Legends, who were invited to bat first by the Sri Lanka Legends in the Road Safety World Series final, found themselves in a precarious position as they were languishing at 78/3 after 10.3 overs.

That’s when Yuvraj Singh showed his class and bludgeoned the Sri Lankan bowlers all over the park to bail India out of trouble. The former cricketer was dismissed in the 19th over but he had ensured that the hosts were in a commanding position at the time of his dismissal.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Legends who were set a massive target of 182, got off to a blistering start as they raced away to 58/0 after six overs. India Legends needed to break the dangerous-looking partnership and it was Yusuf Pathan who got India the crucial breakthrough by getting rid of Sri Lanka Legends skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan for 21(18).

The visitors could not recover after Dilshan’s wicket as they lost three more wickets in the next five overs and were left reeling at 92/4 after 13 overs.

Kaushalya Weeraratne and Chinthaka Jayasinghe formed a decent partnership of 64 runs and kept hopes alive in the Sri Lanka dugout, however, once their partnership was broken, the win for India was a mere formality.

Sri Lanka Legends could manage to score 167/7, thus falling short by 14 runs as India went on to win the maiden edition of the Road Safety World Series.

Watch Road Safety World Series Finals Highlights

With the event coming to an end, a look at the full list of award winners and statistics from the tournament:

Winners – India Legends

Runners-up – Sri Lanka Legends

Cracking Player of the Match (FINAL) – Yuvraj Singh – $ 1000

Player of the Match (FINAL) – Yusuf Pathan – Rs 1.25 lakh

Player of the Tournament – Tillakaratne Dilshan – Rs 2 lakh.

Team Stats  

Highest Total: India Legends – 218/3

Biggest Win Margin (by runs) – India Legends by 56 runs against SA Legends

Biggest Win Margin (by wickets) – India Legends by 10 wickets in 10.1 overs against Bangladesh

Highest match aggregate

India Legends vs West Indies Legends – 424 runs

Batting stats

Most Runs – Tillakaratne Dilshan – 271 runs in 8 matches

Highest Score – Upul Tharanga 99 not out vs Bangladesh Legends

Highest Average – Upul Tharanga – 118.50

Most fifties – 2 by Sachin Tendulkar, Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Morne van Wyk, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Narsingh Deonarine, Irfan Pathan, Dwayne Smith.

Most Sixes – 17 by Yuvraj Singh

Most Sixes in an innings – 6 by Yuvraj Singh in 2 matches

Bowling Stats

Most Wickets – 12 by Tillakaratne Dilshan

Best Bowling Figures in an innings – 5/25 by Nuwan Kulasekara (SLL) vs SA Legends

Most Four-wickets in an innings – Kulasekara, Dilshan, Monty Panesar, Munaf Patel.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read