Bumrah set to lead India T20I squad on Ireland Tour 2023

India T20I squad on Ireland tour 2023
Jasprit Bumrah

India T20I squad on Ireland Tour 2023: Jasprit Bumrah will be back and set to lead India in the upcoming Ireland tour 2023 which is scheduled to start on August 18, 2023.

India T20I squad on Ireland Tour 2023

Bumrah will make a comeback after he was ruled out from the T20 Asia Cup in September 2022 with a back injury. He had made an appearance in India’s T20I bilateral series against Australia at home.

BCCI’s announcement about Bumrah’s return after board secretary Jay Shah hints at the return of the player for three T20I against Ireland. The pacer was absent from the T20 World Cup in Australia in which India crashed out after losing the semi-finals against the champions England.

The 29-year-old player had undergone surgery in March this year in New Zealand with rehabilitation at National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. He had participated in a few practice games in nets under the supervision of the physio.

Jasprit Bumrah also missed the Indian Premier League 2023, Asia Cup 2022 and T20 World Cup, and is in the final stages of his recovery.

Bumrah will be leading the India team on India’s tour of Ireland in 2023. He captained India in a one-off Test match last summer in England.

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named as vice-captain for the Indian team and fast bowler Prasidh Krishna will make his return who was rehabilitated with a Lumbar stress fracture. Krishna has already represented India in 14 ODIs, taking 25 wickets.

Prasidh Krishna was sidelined since the tour of Zimbabwe in August 2022 and underwent surgery in December. But the 27-year-old has had a fitness record and has played only 11 first-class games in his career so far.

Jitesh Sharma, Rinku Singh, and Shivam Dube have got their call-ups to the squad based on their performances in IPL this year. Most players who are selected for the squad are on the squad of the team that will play in the Asian Games.

Indian cricket team
Indian cricket team(Image: BCCI)

The Three-match T20I series will take place on August 18-23 in Ireland and is scheduled to play in Dublin. The series in Ireland will be followed by Asia Cup and an ODI series against Australia on home ground before the World Cup starts in India.

The selectors and team management are aware of the workload imposed on him too soon and are set to look at how he responds to four over the bowl before bowling 10 overs in a match.

Bumrah’s comeback will be good news for India before the World Cup but the Indian pitches are more favourable for spinners, which should be taken into count.

CHECKIreland vs India 2023 Tickets Price, Purchase Link

India T20I squad

Jasprit Bumrah (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan