HomeCricketNewsIndia Squad For Sri Lanka Series in 2023

India Squad For Sri Lanka Series in 2023

India Squad For Sri Lanka Series: BCCI announced the India ODI and T20I squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 to play 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs between January 3 – 15.

India Squad For Sri Lanka Series

India Squad For Sri Lanka Series: Right after the BCCI’s announcement of India’s squad for the Sri Lanka series many cricket experts starts to overview and pointed out them.

We too have overviewed the India Squad For Sri Lanka Series and listed the noticeable changes that BCCI made.

Uttar Pradesh seamer Shivam Mavi and Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar received their maiden T20I call-ups.

In IPL 2023 Auction, the uncapped duo bagged huge contracts. While Shivam Mavi was signed up by defending champion Gujarat Titans for INR 6 crore, Mukesh Kumar was sold to Delhi Capitals for INR 5.5 crore.

Senior India batters KL Rahul and Virat Kohli have also opted out of the T20I series. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, India’s leading wicket-taker in T20Is this year, was also dropped from the squad as youngsters Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik are expected to shoulder the responsibility.

Highlights of India Squad For Sri Lanka Series

  • Shikhar Dhawan dropped from ODIs
  • Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer, and Virat Kohli have rested for the T20I series
  • Rishabh Pant rested from ODIs and T20I
  • KL Rahul dropped from the T20I squad on behalf of marriage leave
  • Suryakumar Yadav named as Vice-captain in T20I format
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, and Tripathi get an opportunity in T20I
  • Mukesh Kumar and Shivam Mavi had a maiden call-up

India T20I squad

Hardik Pandya (C), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India ODI squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read