HomeCricketNewsBoult Returns to New Zealand T20I Squad for Australia Series

Boult Returns to New Zealand T20I Squad for Australia Series

Veteran pacer Trent Boult returns to the New Zealand T20I squad for Australia series scheduled to be played in February. During the Australia tour of New Zealand 2024, a total of 3 T20Is and 2 Test games will be played between February 21 to March 12.

Trent Boult Returns to New Zealand T20I Squad

Trent Boult played his last T20I match in November 2022, in a match against Pakistan(ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2022) at Sydney Cricket Ground. Boult will be a part of the New Zealand squad for the last T20Is scheduled to be played in Auckland.

Boult will be replacing Tim Southee, who will play only the first T20I in order to manage his workload before the two-match Test series. Uncapped all-rounders Josh Clarkson and Rachin Ravindra were also named in the 14-member squad.

Devon Conway- Rachin Ravindra
Devon Conway- Rachin Ravindra (image: NZC)

Senior batter Kane Williamson who is away on paternity leave and Daryl Mitchell, who is nursing a foot injury were not available for the selection

“It’s never ideal missing two of your best players for such a big series, but in saying that, we do have a lot of faith in the guys coming in,” selector Sam Wells said. “Both Josh and Rachin have been in our white-ball squads this summer and it’s really exciting for them to now get this opportunity.

“Josh hits the ball as long and as hard as anyone and we were encouraged by his performances with the ball in his maiden ODI series against Bangladesh before Christmas.

“Rachin’s talent and class has been clear to all over the past six months, and similar to Josh, it’s great to have his all-round skill-set to call on in this squad.”

Devon Conway who recently lost his unborn child also named in the New Zealand T20I Squad.

New Zealand T20I Squad for Australia Series

Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (games 2 & 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (game 1)

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read