Border Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25: Perth to Host Opener Test

Border Gavaskar Trophy

India and Australia will be playing a five-match Test series for the first time since the 1991-92 season with Perth Stadium hosting the first test of the series.

Perth to Host Opener Match of Border Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25

India and Australia will be locking horns in the first test to be played at the Perth Stadium from November 22-26. The second test will be held in the first week of December at the Adelaide Oval.

The Third test will be held at the Gabba and the fourth test will be playing the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground on December 26, 2024. The landmark series, set to form an integral part of the ongoing ICC WTC cycle, will conclude with the fifth test in Sydney in January 2025.

The men’s series coincides with a three-match ODI series between the women’s teams which is set to be played in Brisbane and Perth between December 5-11.

Cricket Australia has announced the schedule for the Women’s Ashes series as part of home summer where MCG will host its first D/N test.

Recently, Cricket Australia has announced their ODI and T20I schedules against Pakistan which is set to begin on November 04, they will be playing three Day/Night one-day games at the MCG.

The will be facing T20I series will start on November 14 at The Gabba.

On this occasion, BCCI secretary Jay Shah said, “The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test Cricket, a format we hold in the highest esteem.

“Our ongoing collaboration with Cricket Australia in extending the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests underscores our collective commitment to nurturing and elevating Test cricket’s significance.

CA Chairman Mike Baird said, “We are delighted the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been extended to five Tests given the intense rivalry between our two great cricketing nations and the excitement this creates.

“The eyes of the cricket world will be on Australia and I’m confident Pat Cummins’ World Champion team can overcome the skill and depth of the Indian team who played so brilliantly to win the last two series here and reclaim the trophy.

India is the reigning champion in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with three successive triumphs, including consecutive historic triumphs in Australia in the 2018-19 and 2020-21 tours.

India and Australia’s last test series in 1991-92 ended with Australia winning the series 4-0. But India had memorable incidents during the series where Ravi Shastri scored smashed double hundred in Sydney and Sachin Tendulkar‘s 114 runs.

Australia vs India Schedule

Match Date Venue
1st Test Nov 22-26 Perth Stadium
2nd Test (D/N) Dec 06-10 Adelaide Oval
3rd Test Dec 14-18 The Gabba
4th Test Dec 26-30 Melbourne Cricket Ground
5th test Jan 03-07 Sydney Cricket Ground