BCCI retires jersey No.7 as a tribute to former captain MS Dhoni

BCCI retires jersey No.7 
MSD (image; BCCI)

The famous and popular No. 7 Jersey worn by legendary captain MS Dhoni has been retired by the Board of Control for Cricket In India.

BCCI retires jersey No.7 

BCCI has recognized the craze for former captain MS Dhoni and has decided to retire the NO. 7 jersey worn by the star. The No.7 Jersey will not be available for any player to use in Indian cricket. He is the second player to retire with his jersey number after the Cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar.

Recently, Google India used the No.7 trend ahead of the IPL 2024 auction. MS Dhoni is an iconic figure in cricket and has a stellar record both as a player and captain. Under his captaincy, India won all ICC trophies naming the 2007 T20 World Cup, the 2011 ODI World Cup, and the 2013 Champions Trophy.

Dhoni has amassed 10,773 runs in 350 ODI matches for India, hitting 10 centuries and 73 half-centuries. In the T20I format, Dhoni scored 1617 runs in 98 matches with an average of 37.60 and a strike rate of 126.13.

He has 4876 test runs in 97 matches which includes six hundreds and 33 fifties. He also dismissed 294 dismissals as a wicketkeeper.

The tradition of retiring jerseys has been followed by football and basketball teams doing the same. The America-based Basketball franchise had retired the famous number 23 jersey after Michael Jordan and the Italian club Napoli retired the No. 10 after Diego Maradona.

As per the ICC guidelines, the players can choose any number between 1 and 100. But BCCI has restricted some numbers in India.

The 21-year-old opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, who had been impressive in IPL while playing for Rajasthan Royals has a craze for no. 19 after being played with the number in the domestic league.

With set to make his debut for India, he asked for the Number, but the number was already taken by Dinesh Karthik. Hence he had to opt for the number 64 jersey for his debut.

Jaiswal is part of the Test squad for the Test match in India’s South Africa tour. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will be also playing in the Test match. With India completing their three-match T20I series 1-1 after their victory in the third match, they will be playing the three-match ODI series starting December 17 at Wanderers Stadium.