DRS Malfunction on David Miller’s wicket in SA vs IND 3rd T20I

DRS malfunction on David Miller's wicket
India tour of South Africa 2023 (image; CSA)

The Indian side was not happy as David Miller was given not out by umpire and they couldn’t go for DRS during the 3rd T20I match in India’s tour of South Africa 2023.

DRS Malfunction on David Miller’s wicket

The Third T20I match India vs South Africa at Wanderers Stadium concluded with the victory of the men in Blues by 106 runs. India needed a victory to level the series 1-1 after their defeat in the second T20I match at St George’s Oval.

India captain Suryakumar Yadav scored a ton during the match to take India to the score of 201 in 20 overs. The Bowling unit played their part in folding South Africa below a hundred.

David Miller tried to stand up for the team, but consecutive fall of wickets ensured India’s victory in the match. David Miller helped the side by scoring 35 runs. During the ninth over, David Miller hit two sixes in the first two balls of the over. Ravindra Jadeja attempted to dismiss David Miller the ball got edged and went into the hand of wicketkeeper Jitesh Sharma.

However, the umpire declared it to be not out and the Indian side couldn’t go for DRS as it was not available due to some equipment failure. But on the next over, DRS was available.

The decision didn’t affect India as they won the match with ease. Suryakumar Yadav made his fourth T20I century to join Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell who were the only ones to score four T20I centuries. He achieved this milestone in just 57 innings and became the fastest player to do so.

He ran an incredible innings scoring 100 in 56 balls which includes seven fours and eight sixes with a strike rate of 178.57.

Suryakumar also has the most number T20I centuries from the number three position or below. Maxwell has three centuries while batting from number 3 or below.

He also surpassed former English skipper Eoin Morgan to have the most fifty-plus scores while batting number four or below in T20Is by having 15 knocks in just 39 innings. Morgan has 14 fifties in 105 innings while batting from number four or below.

He surpassed the Indian star Virat Kohli to become the Indian player with the second most T20I sixes, with a total of 123 in just 57 innings. Rohit Sharma is the leading six-hitter for India in T20I with 182 in 140 innings, while Virat Kohli has 117 sixes in 107 innings.

Suryakumar Yadav has scored 2141 runs with an average of 45.55 and a strike rate of 171.55. He has four centuries, 17 fifties with a best score of 117 in the format.

Following their win in the third T20I, India will be playing a three-match ODI series in South Africa starting on December 17 at the Wanderers Stadium.