HomeCricketNewsBCCI named India squad for England second Test; Jadeja and KL Rahul...

BCCI named India squad for England second Test; Jadeja and KL Rahul Ruled out

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the squad by ruling out Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul for the second Test.

India squad for England second Test

After suffering the defeat in the first test of England’s tour of India in 2024, the BCCI has named its squad for the upcoming Test. the All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja suffered a hamstring niggle during the fourth day of the Hyderabad Test.

on the other hand, KL Rahul complained of pain in his right quadriceps and will be not playing in the upcoming Test. Middle Order batter Sarfaraz Khan, spinner Saurabh Kumar, and All-rounder Washington Sundar have been added to the India squad.

Saurabh has bagged 290 FC wickets at 24.41 and has been part of the Test squad that played in India’s Bangladesh tour in 2022. Although he is yet to make his debut, he comes into the squad in excellent form.

He bagged a five-wicket haul in India A’s recent innings win over England Lions. On the other hand, Sarfaraz Khan has an average of 69.85 with 14 centuries in 45 games.

With Virat Kohli having withdrawn from the first two Tests, Jadeja and KL Rahul’s injury concerns made a major setback for India in the upcoming test on England’s tour of India.

Jadeja has been one of the impressive all-rounders in world cricket with an average of 40 with bat and 25 with ball. Sundar will likely to the only option to bat at no.6 or 7 and bowl finger spin, but it remains to be seen if he can take on a bowling workload comparable to that of Jadeja.

Sundar’s four previous Test have brought him three fifties and a batting average of 66.25 and bagged six wickets at an average of 49.83.

India’s playing 11 will be containing two other spin-bowling allrounders Ashwin and Axar Patel, it is likely India will look to replace Jadeja with Kuldeep Yadav.

India and England will be playing their second test starting on February 06, at ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium.

India squad for England’s second Test

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar, Saurabh Kumar.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read