BCCI announces WPL committee members ahead of WPL 2024

Women's Premier League
Women's Premier League (image: WPL)

Ahead of the WPL 2024, the BCCI has announced WPL committee members for the development of the Women’s Premier League.

BCCI announces WPL committee members

On Thursday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India revealed the 8-member committee to play a pivotal role in taking the Women’s Premier League towards new heights.

The committee has a wide range of experience and is passionate about Women’s sports as they share the same thoughts about promoting women’s sports.

The committee members will be led by Binny Roger who is named as the chairperson while BCC secretary Jay Shah is the Convenor of the committee.

Other members of the committee are Arun Dhumal (IPL chairperson), Rajeev Shukla (BCCI vice-president), Ashish Shelar (BCCI treasurer), Devajit Saikia (BCCI joint secretary), Madhumati Lele and Prabhtej Bhatia.

They will be working with the stakeholders, players, and fans to create a competitive environment in the Women’s Premier League.  Roger Binny was named as the chairperson for the first time. He was the key player in the squad that won the World Cup in 1983.

The reason one may expect so as the likes of Jay Shah and Dhumal is to develop the Women’s league just as successfully as the men’s cricket.

With the success of the WPL inaugural edition, the WPL 2024 auction is scheduled to take place in Mumbai on December 09.

A total of 165 players have been registered for the WPL 2024 auction for the 30 slots available across five teams. The WPL 2024 Auction live streaming will be available on Jio Cinema and Sports 18 from 2 PM IST onwards.

In WPL 2023, a total of five teams played against each other in a double round-robin format, where the three teams finished with the most points and entered the playoff stages of the competition. The first season was played in March 2023 where the Mumbai Indians won the title by beating Delhi Capitals in the WPL 2023 Final.

The Indian vs England women’s first T20I match of the England Women’s tour of India concluded with the victory of the latter by 38 runs difference.

India women will be facing England women in the second T20I match on December 09 at Wankhede Stadium.