HomeCricketNewsCA Announces Australia Squad for Remaining Ashes 2023 Series

CA Announces Australia Squad for Remaining Ashes 2023 Series

Cricket Australia announced their Test squad for the remainder of the Ashes 2023 test series.

Australia Squad for Remaining Ashes 2023 Series

Australia set to put their faith in inexperienced spinner Todd Murphy for the remainder of the Ashes following news that veteran tweaker Nathan Lyon will miss the remainder of the series with his calf issue.

Lyon suffered a ‘significant calf tear’ while fielding on day two of the recently completed second Test against England at Lord’s and the 35-year-old has now been ruled out for the final three Tests in the series.

Todd Murphy

“His stock ball is good enough in international cricket. We have seen that in India in arguably the hardest place to bowl spin. It will be a different challenge with the England batters. If they do come at him, it provides Todd with a decent challenge. But a chance to leave his footmarks here in England. It is a big Ashes series, he is excited by the opportunity.”

Murphy took 14 wickets at an average of 25.21 during the recent Border-Gavaskar series against India and Lyon believes he is capable of replicating those impressive efforts in England.

Australia squad

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson (wk), Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Lyon is one of two players omitted from Australia’s squad for the remaining three Ashes Tests, with backup batter Matthew Renshaw also released from an updated 16-player squad.

Renshaw will remain in England and may still be utilised if a short-term injury arises within the Australia camp, while back-up seamer Michael Neser and reserve keeper Jimmy Peirson also remain with the squad.

The third Test commences in Headingley on Thursday, with Australia requiring a win or a draw to retain the urn they have held over England since the start of 2018.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read