HomeCricketNewsAntigua And Barbuda Falcons introduced as new CPL franchise; Set to replace...

Antigua And Barbuda Falcons introduced as new CPL franchise; Set to replace Jamaica Tallwahs

The Antigua and Barbuda Falcons was the new team introduced in the Caribbean Premier League, replacing the Jamaica Tallawahs.

Antigua And Barbuda Falcons introduced as new CPL franchise

Antigua and Barbuda Falcons will officially replace Jamaica Tallawahs in the upcoming Caribbean Premier League 2024 season.

The announcement of the introduction of a new CPL franchise was made on February 20 during a gala opening ceremony at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua.

Meanwhile, Jamaica Tallwahs who won the league in 2013, 2016, and 2022 editions of the league were disbanded last year after the owners stated they could not run the franchise.

They reached the playoffs in the CPL 2023 schedule where they won the first Playoff match against St Lucia Kings but lost the match against Amazon Warriors through which they missed the spot in the finals.

The Falcons would be the second franchise to come from Antigua native. The island was home to Antigua Hawkbills in the first two CPL seasons but was replaced by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in 2015.

The franchise will be owned by Worldwide Sports Management Group with Krishna Persaud being the founder and president of the group. He expressed his excitement and happiness by saying,

“We are brand new; we are here, we are ready… let’s get ready to play! The Antigua & Barbuda Falcons will bring a unique energy and vitality to the CPL.”

“We are ready to fly high and conquer what is before us. We want to establish a winner’s culture within the team and also a culture of winning and success off the field – among every individual associated with this franchise and the amazing fans we will have at our special home base at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in lovely Antigua,” Persaud said.

The franchise is set to compete in the upcoming edition of the league which is set to beign on August 28. The finals of the tournament will be hosted in Guyana at the Providence Stadium.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read