HomeCricketNewsAdam Zampa equals Graeme Swann, Nortje record in AUS vs BAN Super...

Adam Zampa equals Graeme Swann, Nortje record in AUS vs BAN Super 8 clash

During the Australia vs Bangladesh clash in Antigua, Australian bowler Adam Zampa dismissed Litton Das for 16 and joined the elite list of players to bag at least one wicket in T20 WCs in consecutive innings.

Adam Zampa who remained a key player for Australia in recent T20Is reached another milestone in the first Super 8 clash. In the 9th over of the first inning, Zampa dismissed Litton Das and broke the 58 runs stand for the second wicket.

With the dismissal, Zampa becomes the third bowler to bag at least one wicket in T20 World Cups in consecutive innings. Graeme Swann’s 15 wicket count between 2009 and 2012 remained unbeaten for more than a decade but Anrich Nortje levelled the record by bagging the same in 2021-24. Australia’s Adam Zampa also joined the list with the same duration as Nortje

Most consecutive innings with at least one wicket in T20 WCs

  • 15 – Graeme Swann (2009-2012)
  • 15 – Anrich Nortje (2021-2024*)
  • 15 – Adam Zampa (2021-2024*)
  • 11 – Ish Sodhi (2016-2021)

Speaking of the match, Australia decided to bowl first after winning the toss where Tanzid Hasan and Litton Das opened the batting attack for Bangladesh. After a couple of dot balls in the first two deliveries, Mitchell Starc bowled a fullish length ball while Tanzid Hasan decided to stay back to block but the ball trimmed the cue end and deflected onto the middle stump.

Najmul Hossain Shanto and Das made a steady inning following the early wicket. Shanto’s six in the fourth over reviewed Bangladesh from pressure and also helped them to reach the double-digit mark after three overs.

At the end of the first power play, Bangladesh scored 39 runs for a wicket loss. Najmul Hossain Shanto and Litton Das made a 58-run stand for the second wicket. Zampa made the much-needed breakthrough by dismissing Das for 16 runs.

Maxwell dismissed Rishad Hossain in the very next over and added pressure on the Bangladesh batters. At the end of the 10th over, Bangladesh managed to score 67 runs for 3 wickets loss.

Bangladesh batters struggled to face the Australian pace attack and lost their wickets cheaply. Towhid Hridoy in the 17th over struck back-to-back sixes and gave some hope to the Bangladeshi fans.

But a couple of wickets in the 18th over scattered their dreams of posting a decent score on board. Cummins dismissed Mahmudullah and Mahedi Hasan in back-to-back deliveries in the final two deliveries of the 18th over and worsened the things for Bangladesh.

ALSO READ: Adam Zampa becomes first Australian to take 100 T20I wickets

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read