HomeCricketNewsLatest 2024 IPL Schedule For First 17 days, 21 Matches

Latest 2024 IPL Schedule For First 17 days, 21 Matches

BCCI released the 2024 IPL schedule for the first 15 days on February 22. Owing to the clash of the Indian election dates, BCCI decides to release the schedule in phases to avoid a collision with the election dates.

Right after the announcement of the IPL 2024 Squad, BCCI and teams keep the heat thriving with their continuous announcements including Live Streaming, Jersey, Withdrawal and replacement players list.

Among 10 teams playing in the IPL 2024 tournament, the top 4 teams in the IPL 2024 points table will be qualified to enter the IPL 2024 playoff rounds from which top teams will lock horns to play the IPL 2024 finals.

2024 IPL Schedule For First 17 Days

Defending Champions Chennai Super Kings will face Royal Challengers Bangalore to play the first match of the season on March 22 in Chennai. Check out the 2024 IPL schedule for the first 17 days below with venue, and time details:

22 March Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai 08:00 PM
23 March Punjab Kings vs Delhi Capitals Mohali 03:30 PM
23 March Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Kolkata 07:30 PM
24 March Rajasthan Royals vs Lucknow Super Giants Jaipur 03:30 PM
24 March Gujarat Titans vs Mumbai Indians Ahmedabad 07:30 PM
25 March Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings Bengaluru 07:30 PM
26 March Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans Chennai 07:30 PM
27 March Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians Hyderabad 07:30 PM
28 March Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals Jaipur 07:30 PM
29 March Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders Bengaluru 07:30 PM
30 March Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings Lucknow 07:30 PM
31 March Gujarat Titans vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Ahmedabad 03:30 PM
31 March Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings Vizag 07:30 PM
1 April Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals Mumbai 07:30 PM
2 April Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Lucknow Super Giants Bengaluru 07:30 PM
3 April Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders Vizag 07:30 PM
4 April Gujarat Titans vs Punjab Kings Ahmedabad 07:30 PM
5 April Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad 07:30 PM
6 April Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Jaipur 07:30 PM
7 April Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals Mumbai 03:30 PM
7 April Lucknow Super Giants vs Gujarat Titans Lucknow 07:30 PM

IPL 2024 Format

IPL 2024 Format: The format of the IPL 2024 edition will be the same as the previous year but there will be changes in the venues. Following are the details of the IPL 2024 Format:

  • The ten teams are divided into two groups of five.
  • A random draw was used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice.
  • In the group stage, each team plays 14 games facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times.
  • IPL Points Table system: The team winning a match will be awarded 2 points. The losing team will not receive any points. In case of a draw or no result, both teams will be awarded 1 point.
  • A four-game playoff stage following the Page playoff system is held after the group stage. Four games will be played in the playoffs:
      • Qualifier 1: between the teams ranked first and second in the group stage.
      • Eliminator: between the teams ranked third and fourth in the group stage.
      • Qualifier 2: between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator.
      • Final: between the winners of Qualifiers 1 and 2.

IPL 2024 Rules

IPL 2024 Rules: Ahead of the IPL 2024 season, BCCI has made noticeable changes in their rule book including a hike in uncapped player’s salaries and allowing a couple of bouncers in an over.

Check out the full updated IPL 2024 Rules below:

  • BCCI introduced a change in the salary of the Uncapped Indian players. As per the BCCI’s new plan, the uncapped Indians who play international cricket between IPLs will receive a hike in their IPL salary.
    • Prior to the start of any Season, the League Fee payable to any player who is uncapped is less than Rs. 50 Lakhs; and
    • Such player is then capped or achieves 5 or 10 Caps at any time during the period from the end of one Season up to the start of the next Season.
    • The League Fee payable to such Player for such next season and any subsequent season if such player’s contract is extended by the relevant franchise shall be Rs. 50 Lakhs for so long as such player has 1 Cap, Rs. 75 Lakhs for so long as such player has 5-9 Caps and Rs. 1 crore if the player has 10 Caps or more; and
    • If such player is subsequently traded then prior to such trade his League Fee shall be deemed to be determined under paragraph (c) above.
    • It is clarified that for the purposes of calculating the Salary Cap, if the player is traded, then any increase in a player’s League Fee will apply to the new franchise’s Salary Cap.
    • However, if the player remains with the existing team, then such an increase will not affect the Franchisee’s Salary Cap and the Salary Cap will remain the same as it was before the increase in Player’s League Fee.
  • For the first time in the IPL, bowlers can bowl two bounces in an over in IPL 2024.
  • The IPL 2024 season will also retain the Impact Player Rule which was introduced in IPL 2023.
  • Team captains can walk in with 2 different team sheets before handling their final playing 11 after the toss.
    • Depending on the toss result, the teams can pick their best 11 after the toss. But till last season, the captains had to exchange the teams before the toss.
    • For Example: If team A wants to bat first and then defend a total on a slow track in turning conditions and is forced to bowl first they can pick the playing 11 with an extra spinner in the starting 11 and then they can replace a specialist bowler with a batter in the second innings to help with the run-chase.
    • BCCI introduced this rule in the 2023 edition to bring down the motto of “win toss, win match” in certain conditions.
  • IPL 2024 will have two DRS for each inning.
  • Players can take reviews for wides and no-balls in IPL
  • Upon a catch dismissal, irrespective of whether the batsmen have crossed or not the incoming batsman will take the strike, except if it’s the last ball of the over
  • If any team fails to find their playing XI due to COVID-19, the BCCI will attempt to reschedule the game later in the IPL 2024.
  • If rescheduling won’t be possible then IPL Technical Team will see the matter.
  • In Playoffs/Final: If Super Over or subsequent Super Overs can’t be completed due to some reason then the team that has finished higher in the league will be declared as the winner.
  • Over rate penalty of only four fielders outside the 30-yard circle for every over not completed in the allocated time.
  • Unfair movement of the wicketkeeper will result in a dead ball and 5 penalty runs.
  • Unfair movement by a fielder will result in a dead ball and 5 penalty runs
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read