HomeCricketIPLIPL 2022: Andrew Tye Named As Mark Wood's Replacement Player

IPL 2022: Andrew Tye Named As Mark Wood’s Replacement Player

Mark Wood’s Replacement Player: Australia fast bowler Andrew Tye has replaced injured England fast bowler Mark Wood at Lucknow Super Giants for the upcoming 15th season of the Indian Premier League.

As per IPL 2022 schedule, KL Rahul led Lucknow Super Giant will play their debut IPL match against Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans on March 28. Notably, Gujarat too play their debut against the LSG.

Mark Wood’s Replacement Player

Tye, who had last played for Australia in August 2021, has played two out of his 39 international white-ball matches in India.

While Lucknow had bought Wood for INR 7.5 crore during the mega auction held in Bengaluru last month, Tye has been included for his base price of INR 1 crore.

Mark Wood
Mark Wood

LSG had reportedly approached BCB in order to sign Taskin Ahmed for the season. However, he was denied an NOC by the board given Bangladesh’s hectic schedule.

Tye, 35, will join Super Giants post finishing as the third-highest wicket-taker in Big Bash League 2021-22 on the back of picking 25 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 16.96, an economy rate of 8.07 and a strike rate of 12.6.

Having said that, Tye is not unknown to bowling in Indian conditions. Tye, who had made his IPL debut for Gujarat Lions in 2017, went on to play for Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the next two seasons before playing a solitary match for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2020.

In 27 IPL matches across four seasons, Tye has picked 40 wickets at an average of 21.80, an economy rate of 8.47, and a strike rate of 15.45.

At LSG, Tye will be part of a fast-bowling group already comprising of established names such as Dushmantha Chameera, Jason Holder, Avesh Khan, and Ankit Rajpoot.

IPL 2022 LSG Squad

Manan Vohra, Evin Lewis, Manish Pandey, KL Rahul (c&wk), Quinton de Kock (wk), Ravi Bishnoi, Dushmantha Chameera, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Marcus Stoinis, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma, K Gowtham, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Jason Holder, Andrew Tye

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read