IPL 2022: Rashid Khan is Not Willing to be SRH’s Second Retained Player

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan

Afghan spinner Rashid Khan is likely to enter the IPL 2022 Mega Auction after refusing to be the second player of IPL 2022 SRH retention.

SRH is Likely to miss Rashid Khan

As per a report, the franchise bosses want Kane Williamson to be their first retention and Rashid Khan the second. The order in which they are picked will have its bearing on the salaries the players will earn. Rashid, however, isn’t happy with the decision and wants himself to be picked first by the franchise.

Rashid remains one of the best T20 bowlers in world cricket. He has arguably been the most consistent player for Sunrisers over the last 2-3 years.

Williamson, on the other hand, will be the franchise’s skipper and has a reputation of being one of the most sought-after leaders in the sport.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson

The question over the order in which they are picked wouldn’t have been problematic had there not been a huge gap between No. 1 and No. 2 players that the franchise picks. To be precise, the difference between the salaries of these players will be INR 4 crore.

With the new franchises, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, looking for opportunities like these, it is quite likely that one of them will pick Rashid before the auction and make him one of their top-earning players.

The likes of KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, David Warner, Hardik Pandya, etc. are expected to be released by their respective franchises too. Will Rashid joined this list or not, remains to be seen.

A report confirmed that Rishabh Pant is set to stay on as captain of the Delhi Capitals. Shreyas Iyer then has asked to be released and “will prefer to be in the auction pool rather than being retained”. Along with Pant, the Capitals are reported to retain  Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel and Anrich Nortje.

Iyer had led the Capitals to their first-ever IPL final in 2020 but lost to Mumbai Indians.

As far as champions CSK are concerned, MS Dhoni himself had confirmed that he will play the next season. Ravindra Jadeja and Ruturaj Gaikwad are all but certain to be retained. One of Moeen Ali, Sam Curran and Faf du Plessis will be their choice for the foreign player retention.

5-time winners Mumbai Indians are set to retain Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah and Kieron Pollard is their likely overseas retention. They are pondering over their fourth player, which could well be young Ishan Kishan. This would mean that Suryakumar Yadav, and the Pandya brothers, Hardik and Krunal, will be available for the two new franchises.

Virat Kohli will be RCB’s first retention while the others on the retention list could be Devdutt Paiddikal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj and Glenn Maxwell.