HomeCricketIPLRetired Hurt Players in IPL History List with Full Details

Retired Hurt Players in IPL History List with Full Details

Retired Hurt Players in IPL History: Retired Hurt in cricket allows the injured player(while playing) to resume their innings within the end of the inning if they recovered from the injury/if the player decides to play.

Retired Hurt Players Rules

Retired Hurt Players in IPL History: There are two types of retirement namely – retired not out and retired out.

Retired Out – In all other cases the batsman is considered retired-out and may not return to the innings unless the opposing captain offers an exemption.

Retired not out/Retired Hurt – If the batsman is ill or injured they are considered retired – not out and are permitted to return to batting if they recover.

  • If a batter retires during his innings because of injury, illness, or any other unavoidable reasons, he/she is considered retired hurt.
  • In this case, he can resume his innings later in the game after at least one batter is dismissed following his departure from the crease.
  • There have been multiple instances where a player has left the field after an injury only to join back after recovering a bit.

Retired Hurt Players in IPL History

Retired Hurt Players in IPL History: Like all other cricket formats, IPL too has the retired hurt option. Following are the details of the Retired Hurt Players in IPL History along with the team and year details.

Year Player Team Retired At
2008 Dominic Thornely Mumbai Indians 0
2010 VVS Laxman Deccan Chargers 10
2010 Harbhajan Singh Mumbai Indians 8
2012 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 16
2013 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 38
2014 Harbhajan Singh Mumbai Indians 10
2015 Aaron Finch Mumbai Indians 10
2016 Kevin Pietersen Rising Pune Supergiant 0
2017 Krunal Pandya Mumbai Indians 2
2018 Shikhar Dhawan Sunrisers Hyderabad 0
2018 Nitish Rana Kolkata Knight Riders 15
2021 Ambathi Rayudu Chennai Super Kings 0
2022 Rahul Tripathi Sunrisers Hyderabad 17
2023 Bhanuka Rajapaksa Punjab Kings 1
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read