List of Players to Dismiss via “Hit-Wicket” in IPL History

jonny bairstory hit wicket in ipl 2021

A lot of International players including Yuvraj Singh has been dismissed via “Hit wicket” in IPL. The batsman is out “hit wicket” if he breaks his own wicket with his bat or any part of his person while playing the ball or setting off for a run.

Hit Wicket Law

As described in Laws to (Wicket put down) in any of the following circumstances: in the course of any action taken by him/her in preparing to receive or in receiving a delivery, in setting off for the first run immediately after playing or playing at the ball, if no attempt is made to play the ball, in setting off for the first run, providing that in the opinion of the umpire this is immediately after the striker has had the opportunity of playing the ball, in lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of guarding his/her wicket within the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than once).

35.1.2 If the striker puts his/her wicket down in any of the ways described in Laws to before the bowler has entered the delivery stride, either umpire shall call and signal Dead ball.

List of players dismissed via “Hit Wicket”

IPL 2008M KhoteMumbai Indians (MI)
Kings XI Punjab, Sreesanth
IPL 2008Misbah-ul-HaqRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
Kings XI Punjab, Sreesanth
IPL 2009S AsnodkarRajasthan Royals (RR)
Chennai Super Kings, Albie Morkel
IPL 2012R JadejaChennai Super Kings (CSK)
Deccan Chargers (DC), Dale Steyn
IPL 2012Saurabh TiwaryRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
Mumbai Indians, Harbhajan Singh
IPL 2016Yuvraj SinghSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Mumbai Indians, Mitchell McClenaghan
IPL 2016D HoodaSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Delhi Daredevils (DD), Nathan Coulter-Nile
IPL 2016David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Axar Patel
IPL 2017S JacksonKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), Washington Sundar
IPL 2019R ParagRajasthan Royals (RR)
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Andre Russell
IPL 2020Hardik PandyaMumbai Indians (MI)
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Andre Russell
IPL 2021Jonny BairstowSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Mumbai Indians (MI), Krunal Pandya
IPL 2022Sai SudharsanGujarat TitansMumbai Indians