HomeCricketIPLRR Captain in IPL 2024 with Vice Captain and Mentor

RR Captain in IPL 2024 with Vice Captain and Mentor

RR Captain in IPL 2024: Rajasthan Royals who won the first edition of the tournament in 2008 still waits to lift their second trophy in the Indian Premier League. After ending up as runner-up of the IPL 2022 edition, Rajasthan Royals are expected to make an impact in the IPL 2023 season.

But Sanju Samson-led Rajasthan Royals failed to perform up to the mark and ended up in 5th position in the IPL 2023 points table with 7 victories off 14 league matches.

With a mini auction planned to be hosted for the 2024 edition, Rajasthan Royals might make use of this and may make a few changes to strengthen their squad for the upcoming season.

RR Captain in IPL 2024

RR Captain in IPL 2024: Wicketkeeper batter Sanju Samson will lead the Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2024.

Apart from the captain, the vice-captain of the team will also play some key roles in the game and will lead the team in the absence of the captain. Ravichandran Ashwin will be the vice-captain of the Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2024 season.

As per the IPL 2024 schedule, Rajasthan Royals will play their first match of the season against Lucknow Super Giants on March 24 in Jaipur.

Check out the full list of RR Captains in IPL since 2008 below:

*currently leading the team

  • Sanju Samson: 2021*
  • Ajinkya Rahane: 2018-2019(24 Matches)
  • Steve Smith: 2014-2020(27 Matches)
  • Rahul Dravid: 2012-2013(40 Matches)
  • Shane Watson: 2008-2015(21 Matches)
  • Shane Warne: 2008-2011(56 Matches)
Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson(Image: IPL)

Ahead of the Indian Premier League 2024, BCCI planned to host a mini-auction for the tournament in Dubai on December 19.

For IPL 2024 Auction, there are no restrictions on the number of players who can be released or retained. In addition to the purse remaining from the previous auction and the value of the players they release, teams will have an additional INR 5 crore to spend in the auction.

As of the previous season, BCCI allowed franchises to use the “TRADE” option where teams can exchange players between them.

According to the IPL committee rules, each franchise can have 25 players in their squad, out of which a maximum of 8 can be foreign players. In Playing 11, each team can have a maximum of 4 overseas players in the mix.

CHECKPBKS Captain in IPL 2024 with Vice Captain

IPL 2024 RR Squad

IPL 2024 RR Squad: Check out IPL 2024 RR Squad details with role and auction price details below:

Player Role Auction Price Nation
Yashasvi Jaiswal Batsman INR 4.00 Crores India
Shimron Hetmyer Batsman INR 8.50 Crores West Indies
Sanju Samson (c&wk) WK-Batsman INR 14.00 Crores India
Jos Buttler (wk) WK-Batsman INR 10.00 Crores England
Dhruv Jurel (wk) WK-Batsman INR 20.00 Lakhs India
Navdeep Saini Bowler INR 2.60 Crores India
Kuldeep Sen Bowler INR 20.00 Lakhs India
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler INR 6.50 Crores India
Trent Boult Bowler INR 8.00 Crores New Zealand
Riyan Parag All-rounder INR 3.80 Crores India
Ravichandran Ashwin All-rounder INR 5.00 Crores India
Donovan Ferreira WK-Batsman INR 50.00 Lakhs South Africa
Kunal Rathore WK-Batsman INR 20.00 Lakhs India
Adam Zampa Bowler INR 1.50 Crores Australia
Sandeep Sharma Bowler INR 50.00 Lakhs India
Avesh Khan Bowler Traded from LSG India
Prashid Krishna Bowler INR 10.00 Crores India
Rovman Powell Batsman INR 7.40 Crores West Indies
Shubham Dubey Batsman INR 5.80 Crores India
Tom Kohler-Cadmore WK-Batsman INR 40.00 Lakhs England
Abid Mushtaq All-rounder INR 50.00 Lakhs India
Nandre Burger Bowler INR 50.00 Lakhs South Africa

Who is the captain of RR in IPL 2024?

Sanju Samson is the captain of RR in IPL 2024, while Ravichandran Ashwin will be his deputy as vice-captain, and will captain Rajasthan Royals in his absence.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read