HomeCricketBBLBig Bash League: BBL 2022-23 Squad With New Signings

Big Bash League: BBL 2022-23 Squad With New Signings

Big Bash League 2022-23/BBL 2022-23 Squad: As per BBL 2022-23 schedule, the first match will be played on December 13 where Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars lock horns to play the first match in Manuka Oval.

The Eliminator, Qualifier and Knockout finals will be held from January 27-29 with the Challenger and decider to take place the following weekend on February 2 and 4 – the fifth time in six years that the season will finish in the second month of the year.

Perth Scorchers are the defending champions, having won their 4th title in the 2021–22 Big Bash League season.

“We’ve been clear since the end of last season given the disruption of two years that rebounding really strongly this season is such a critical thing for us to achieve. This season is one of if not the most important seasons we’ve had in recent years,” Alistair Dobson, the general manager of Big Bash League told the media.

Alistair Dobson
Alistair Dobson(Image: CA)

Following are the teams and their captains of the Big Bash League 2022-23.

Team/Franchise Name Captain
Melbourne Stars Glenn Maxwell
Hobart Hurricanes Matthew Wade
Sydney Thunder TBA
Adelaide Strikers Travis Head
Sydney Sixers Moises Henriques
Perth Scorchers Ashton Turner
Melbourne Renegades Nic Maddinson
Brisbane Heat Usman Khawaja

BBL 2022-23 Squad New Signings

New players signing for the BBL 2022-23 Squad will be updated here!!!

  • England fast bowler Tymal Mills who plays for Perth Scorchers has withdrawn from Big Bash League 2022-23 due to a family emergency.
  • New Zealand allrounder Jimmy Neesham joins Hobart Hurricanes squad for BBL|12 as an overseas replacement player.
  • Sam Whiteman joins Sydney Thunders for BBL 2022-23 season.
  • Melbourne Renegades signs Peter Handscomb for the BBL12 season.
  • Matthew Gilkes re-signs with Thunder until 2024
  • Fast bowler Peter Siddle will remain in Adelaide Strikers blue for the sixth consecutive season, re-signing for KFC BBL|12.
  • South African batter Faf du Plessis signs with Perth Scorchers as a replacement international player ahead of the 2022-23 KFC Big Bash League season.
  • Gurinder Sandhu re-signs 2 years deal with Sydney Thunder.
  • England batsman Sam Hain joins the Brisbane Heat as an International Replacement player for the KFC Big Bash League.
  • Pakistani bowler Usman Qadir signs with Sydney Thunder for BBL 12 season.
  • Victorian batter Campbell Kellaway has signed one year deal with the Melbourne Stars for BBL|12.
  • Mitchell Marsh and Phil Salt were ruled out of BBL 12 season.
  • Melbourne Renegades signs New Zealand batter Martin Guptill for the BBL 2022-23 season.
  • Victorian fast bowler Cam McClure has signed with the Melbourne Stars for BBL|12.
  • Sydney Thunders signed Fazalhaq Farooqi for the upcoming BBL 2022-23 season.
  • The Melbourne Renegades can confirm Liam Livingstone has withdrawn from BBL 2022-23.
  • The Perth Scorchers have terminated their contract with top draft pick Laurie Evans following his positive result on an anti-doping test.
  • Hobart Hurricanes signs Zak Crawley for the BBL 2022-23 season.

BBL 2022-23 Squad

Following are the details of the Big Bash League 2022-23 squad with new signings:

Sydney Sixers

Moises Henriques, Jordan Silk, Daniel Hughes, James Vince, Kurtis Patterson, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, Steve O’Keefe, Daniel Christian, Josh Philippe, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird, Nathan Lyon, Izharulhaq Naveed, Chris Jordan

Perth Scorchers

Ashton Turner, Nick Hobson, Faf du Plessis, Cooper Connolly, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Cameron Bancroft (wk), Josh Inglis (wk), Jason Behrendorff, Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Matthew Kelly, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye

Sydney Thunder

Alex Hales, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Jason Sangha, David Warner, Oliver Davies, Chris Green, Daniel Sams, Matthew Gilkes (wk), Baxter Holt (wk), Brendan Doggett, Nathan McAndrew, Usman Qadir, Tanveer Sangha, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Hobart Hurricanes

Matthew Wade (wk), D’Arcy Short, Zak Crawley, Caleb Jewell, Asif Ali, Macalister Wright, Mitchell Owen, Tim David, Faheem Ashraf, Ben McDermott, Joel Paris, Nathan Ellis, Riley Meredith, Billy Stanlake, Wil Parker, Patrick Dooley, Chris Tremain

Melbourne Renegades

Nic Maddinson, Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser McGurk, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jonathan Wells, Shaun Marsh, Martin Guptill, Andre Russell, Tom Rogers, Will Sutherland, Sam Harper, Zak Evans, Akeal Hosein, Kane Richardson, Jack Prestwidge, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ruwantha Kellepotha

Melbourne Stars

Brody Couch, Hilton Cartwright, Clint Hinchliffe, Joe Burns, Nik Larkin, Beau Webster, Marcus Stoinis, Campbell Kellaway, Luke Wood, Joe Clarke (wk), Liam Hatcher, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Trent Boult

Adelaide Strikers

Travis Head, Ryan Gibson, Adam Hose, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Chris Lynn, Jake Weatherald, Colin de Grandhomme, Matthew Short, Rashid Khan, Alex Carey (wk), Harry Nielsen (wk), Wes Agar, Cameron Boyce, Harry Conway, Peter Siddle, Henry Thornton

Brisbane Heat

Usman Khawaja, Max Bryant, James Bazley, Sam Heazlett, Matt Renshaw, Sam Hain, Colin Munro, Ross Whitely, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Jack Wildermuth, Sam Billings (wk), Jimmy Peirson (wk), Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Mark Steketee, Will Prestwidge, Will Prestwidge

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read