TATA Group Bags WPL Title Sponsorship Rights For 2023-27


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has awarded the WPL title sponsorship rights to TATA Group for the 2023-2027 seasons.

TATA Group Bags WPL Title Sponsorship

As per WPL 2023 schedule, the first match will be played between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants on March 4 in Mumbai.

BCCI has received INR 4669.99 crores in the Women’s Premier League team Auction. Right after successfully hosting the WPL 2023 Auction, BCCI warned 5 WPL teams that it can involve commercial associations with fantasy sports but must avoid involvement with cryptocurrencies, betting, gambling, real money and tobacco sectors.

The board has warned that any franchise associating itself with barred brands could face stringent actions. A total of 87 players were bought during the inaugural auction by the 5 teams to complete the squad.

All 5 participating teams have announced different unique logos with various reasons for the usage of the colours or names.

Regarding the announcement, BCCI said: The first edition of the WPL will comprise 22 matches and will feature five teams – Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore & UP Warriorz. The prestigious tournament will be played from March 04 to March 26, 2023 in Mumbai at the Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium.

Mr Roger Binny, President, BCCI said: “We are really happy and excited to have TATA Group as the title sponsor for the WPL. We feel this is one of the most significant developments which will further boost the popularity of women’s cricket.

The Indian women’s team has left no stone unturned to make the country proud and WPL is a step to indicate the upswing of women’s cricket in India.

The tournament marks a new chapter in the history of women’s cricket in India and I am sure that it will set a new benchmark in the times to come; encouraging Indian as well as world cricketers to take up and pursue the sport.”

Mr Jay Shah, Honorary Secretary, BCCI said: “Women’s cricket is achieving new heights with every passing day and having TATA Group on board as the Title Sponsor for the Women’s Premier League is a testament of the growing stature of women’s cricket in India.

The WPL will now be called TATA Women’s Premier League. The BCCI values and appreciates women’s cricket and the WPL is one more initiative to further nurture the game.”

Mr Arun Singh Dhumal, Chairman, IPL said: “After extending their support to the IPL, we are happy to have TATA Group on board for the Women’s Premier League. We look forward to a fruitful partnership and the BCCI is sure the WPL brand will grow manifold with this move.

I am sure this will be a long and enriching affiliation for both stakeholders. The beginning of the WPL is one more step in BCCI’s continuous endeavour to support and promote women’s cricket in India. This is the inaugural edition of the tournament, which promises to inspire and act as motivation for the budding women cricketers across the globe.”

WPL Teams And Owners

BCCI have received INR 4669.99 crores in the Women’s Premier League team Auction. Following are the details of the WPL Teams And Owners:

Team Name Owner City Captain Amount
Gujarat Giants Adani Group Ahmedabad TBA INR 1289 Cr
Mumbai Indians Reliance Industries Mumbai Harmanpreet Kaur INR 912.99 Cr
Royal Challengers Bangalore Diageo Bengaluru Smriti Mandhana INR 901 Cr
Delhi Capitals JSW–GMR Delhi TBA INR 810 Cr
UP Warriorz Capri Global Lucknow Alyssa Healy INR 757 Cr

TBA – To Be Announced