HomeCricketWorld Test ChampionshipWTC 2023 Final: ICC Fines Shubman Gill For Breaching Code of Conduct

WTC 2023 Final: ICC Fines Shubman Gill For Breaching Code of Conduct

Indian opening batter Shubman Gill was slapped with a total of 15 percent of his match fee for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct in the recently concluded WTC 2023 final game against Australia.

ICC Fines Shubman Gill

Rohit Sharma led the Indian cricket team also faced a 100 percent fine for maintaining a slow over-rate in WTC 2023 final. Apart from facing a fine, one demerit point has been added to Gill’s disciplinary record, for whom it was the first offence in a 24-month period.

The incident occurred after the fourth day’s play when Gill criticised the umpiring decision for his dismissal in the second innings of the match on social media. Gill too accepted the sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing.

“India’s Shubman Gill will also face a sanction for appearing to criticise the decision to give him out on the fourth day of the Test, breaching article 2.7 which relates to public criticism or inappropriate comment in relation to an incident occurring in an international match. The young opener has been fined 15 percent of his match fee,” an ICC statement read.

Rohit Sharma on Gill's Dismissal in WTC 2023 Final
Camron Green’s controversial catch to dismiss Gill in WTC 2023 final(Image: Twitter)

“Television umpire Richard Kettleborough adjudged that a catch by Cameron Green to remove Gill had been taken cleanly. Gill took to social media later in the day to make a post that appeared to question the decision,” the statement added.

Talking about the incident, Gill ended up edging a delivery off Scott Boland to the third slip where Green dived a bit and finished the catch. Australian team members started celebrating while Gill remained there in the middle and the umpire referred to it as the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough who finally declared him out after evaluating from different angles.

While batting at 18 runs in the second innings on Day 4, Gill lost his wicket when he edged a Scott Boland delivery to the gully where Green dived to his left to take an incredible catch.

But the dismissal created controversy and raised doubts surrounding the legality of the catch with multiple replays of the event not providing a clear picture.

TV umpire Richard Kettleborough eventually ruled in favour of the fielding team, and was heard saying ‘fingers underneath the ball’.

Earlier, Indian captain Rohit Sharma opens on Gill’s controversial dismissal in the WTC 2023 final against Australia and said the third umpire should have looked at more replays before coming up with the decision.

This is the second time where India loses the WTC Final. In the first edition, India loses the trophy to New Zealand while in the second edition, India loses the trophy to Australia.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read