HomeCricketWorld Test Championship2023 WTC Final India Squad Announced By BCCI

2023 WTC Final India Squad Announced By BCCI

2023 WTC Final India Squad: With days ahead of the grand World Test Championship 2023 final game at The Oval, India announced the 15-member squad.

2023 WTC Final India Squad

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the squad for the ICC World Test Championship final against Australia where India’s regular skipper Rohit Sharma will lead the team.

India will miss the service of their star players including Jasprit Bumrah and Iyer. But the grand final game will also give a chance to the players who were sidelined from the Indian Test side in recent years.

One of the notable inclusion in the Test squad is Ajinkya Rahane. Rahane was dropped from the Indian test Team at the end of the 2021-22 tour of South Africa after a protracted run of low scores. His performance in the ongoing IPL 2023 has given an opportunity to the right-handed batter.

VVS Laxman points out the mistake Rahane did in WTC 2021 finals against New Zealand
Ajinkya Rahane dismissed for 49 runs in WTC 2021 finals

Rahane topped the run charts for Mumbai in a mostly forgettable Ranji Trophy 2022-23 campaign, where he scored 634 runs at 57.63. The knock includes two centuries which was not enough for his side to make it to the knockouts.

Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat remain the four frontline fast bowlers in the continued absence of Jasprit Bumrah with Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel the spin-bowling all-rounders at captain Rohit Sharma’s disposal.

India Squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Standby players: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav.

CHECKWTC 2023 Final Squad, Venue, Date – Full Details

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read