Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad; Babar Named as Captain

Babar Azam
Babar Azam

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad: Pakistan Cricket Board(PCB) announces the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled to kickstart from October 16 with the first match between Sri Lanka and Namibia in Geelong Cricket Ground, Victoria.

Pakistan will play their first match against India on October 23 in Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne. Pakistan’s favourite Babar Azam will lead the side while Shadab Khan will play the deputy role.

“In the 15-player World Cup squad, top-order batter Shan Masood has been included in the side for the shortest format for the first-time along with fast bowlers Mohammad Wasim Junior and Shaheen Shah Afridi, while Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani have been named as the three traveling reserves.

“Wasim Junior has been included after recovering completely from the side strain he suffered during the ACC T20 Asia Cup, whereas Shaheen, who is undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury in London and expected to resume bowling early next month, will join the squad in Brisbane on 15 October,” a PCB statement said.

Pakistan Squad

Pakistan T20 world cup squad 2022 is announced. Babar Azam will be the captain and Shadab Khan will act as deputy.

Notable addition is Shaheen Shah Afridi, who was injured just before Asia Cup and left out. Fakhar Zaman, who was part of the last tournament has been left out of main 15 and added as a reserve.

Player Role
Babar Azam (c) Batsman
Shadab Khan (vc) All Rounder
Asif Ali Batsman
Haider Ali Batsman
Haris Rauf Bowler
Iftikhar Ahmed All Rounder
Khushdil Shah Batsman
Mohammad Hasnain Bowler
Mohammad Nawaz All Rounder
Mohammad Rizwan Wicket Keeper Batsman
Mohammad Wasim All Rounder
Naseem Shah Bowler
Shaheen Shah Afridi Bowler
Shan Masood Batsman
Usman Qadir Bowler

READ: T20 World Cup 2022 Squad – ALL Team Replacement List


Player Role
Fakhar Zaman Batsman
Mohammad Haris Batsman
Shahnawaz Dahani Bowler