ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List in ODI and T20I

cricket world cup winners

Table of Contents

Here we present the Men’s ICC Cricket World Cup winners list (ODI + T20). Cricket World Cup was contested for the first time in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side.

It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50.

In cricket world cup winners list for T20 and ODI, Australia is the most successful country which won 5 World Cups in ODI. India & West Indies are the only 2 countries that have won world cup 2 times.

Do you know that ICC conducts the same 50 over and 20 overs World Cup tournament for Women since 1973?. Check out the ICC Women’s World Cup winners list for both 50 overs and 20 overs along with match-winning captains details.

Men’s ICC Cricket World Cup Winners and Runners

The next Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in 2023 in India.

The table given below gives the list of 50 overs ICC Men’s World Cup Winners along with the runner ups and Hosts for each year the event was organized:

YearWorld Cup WinnerRunners UpHostFinals Venue
1975West IndiesAustraliaEngland
Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1979West IndiesEnglandEngland
Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1983IndiaWest IndiesEngland
Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1987AustraliaEnglandIndia & Pakistan
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
1992PakistanEnglandAustralia & New Zealand
Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
1996Sri LankaAustraliaIndia, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
Wanderers, Johannesburg
2007AustraliaSri LankaAustralia
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia
Melbourne Cricket Ground
2019EnglandNew ZealandEnglandLord’s, London


ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

The captain of the team plays a crucial role in winning a cricket match that too winning an ICC trophy requires a huge role from the captain of the team.

Find the detailed list of cricket world cup winning captains list since 1975 below:

2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1992PakistanImran Khan
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd


ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List

The first-ever T20 Cricket World Cup was held in India and India won the first-ever 20 overs World Cup in 2007 under MS Dhoni captaincy.

T20 Cricket world cup winners list


YearWinnerRunners UpHostFinals Venue
2007IndiaPakistanSouth Africa
Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
2009PakistanSri LankaEnglandLord’s, London
2010EnglandAustraliaWest Indies
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown
2012West IndiesSri LankaSri Lanka
R. Premadasa Stadium
2014Sri LankaIndiaBangladesh
Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka
2016West IndiesEnglandIndia
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
2021AustraliaNew ZealandIndia(UAE)Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai


ICC T20 WC Winning Captains List

India has won the inaugural T20 World Cup Tournament under MSD Captaincy. India played a final match against Pakistan which is considered as one of the most thrilling matches ever in ICC World Cup match history.

Following are the list of ICC T20 WC winning captains:

YearWinning TeamCaptain
2007IndiaM S Dhoni
2009PakistanYounis Khan
Paul Collingwood
2012West IndiesDarren Sammy
Sri Lanka
Dinesh Chandimal
Lasith Malinga
2016West IndiesDarren Sammy
2021AustraliaAaron Finch


Also read: Men’s Cricket World Cup – ICC Announces Major Changes in T20, 50 Overs Tournament

Interesting Facts On Cricket World Cup 

  • Australia is the country with the maximum number of World Cup Titles for both Men and Women tournaments.
  • There are a total of 12 teams currently that participate in various ICC Men’s tournaments. These include India, Australia, England, New Zealand Pakistan, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland, West Indies, and Sri Lanka.
  • India and Australia are the only two countries to have won the World cup in both 50 and 60 overs format.
  • India is the only country till date to have won the Men’s World Cup for 50 overs, 60 overs, and 20 overs

Also read: Top 20 Fastest Centuries in One Day International(ODI) Cricket Format