Women’s T20I World Cup Indian Squad Announced-Harmanpreet Kaur Leads

Womens T20 World cup
Womens T20 World cup

As the ICC women’s World cup set to start from February 21 in Australia, India announced the squad.

India faces quadruple champion Aussies as kick start

Indian women team kick start their World cup match by facing the 4 times champions Australia, to whome India lose the Tri series trophy. Though India lose tri-series trophy it expose the players to play in Australian ground that set base for the T20I world cup.

As in the Tri-series Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the 15-member India squad at the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup while the left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana has been appointed as the vice-captain of the side.

Indian women's team
Indian women’s team

Verma drafted “in”

The 15 year old Shafali Verma who shined in Australia women’s Tri-series has made her slot in the World cup squad which will also mark her first appearance in an ICC event. The Bengal batter Richa Ghosh, who impressed in the recently concluded Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy in India, also dragged into the squad. Jemimah Rodrigues who was a part of the previous edition of the T20 World Cup in 2018 and featured in five matches get part in squad.

Participants in Women’s World cup 

Australia, India, West Indies, Thailand, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, Bangladesh and Pakistan – will feature in the seventh edition of the marquee event at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Group A consist of hosts”Australia”, New Zealand, Sri Lanka,India and Bangladesh.

Group B consist of England, South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan and Thailand.

Clash in practice 

The Indian women’s team are scheduled to play two warm-up clashes against Pakistan (February 16) and West Indies (February 18) before the World cup.


Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodriguez, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Richa Ghosh, Tania Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy.

The complete schedule of India matches:

February 21: India vs Australia (1: 30 p.m) at Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney

February 24: India vs Bangladesh (4: 30 p.m) at W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth

February 27: India vs New Zealand  (8:30 a.m) at Junction Oval, Melbourne

February 29: India vs Sri Lanka (1:30 p.m) at Junction Oval, Melbourne

March 5: Semifinal 1 (8:30 a.m) and Semifinal 2 (1:30 p.m) at Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

March 8: Final (1:30 p.m) at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here