Zimbabwe squad for Ireland T20Is; two uncapped players earned maiden call-up

Zimbabwe Cricket team
Zimbabwe Cricket team (image: ZCU)

With Zimbabwe against Ireland, two uncapped players have been called up for the home tour which is set to start on December 07.

Zimbabwe squad for Ireland T20Is

The Ireland tour of Zimbabwe 2023 will feature a three-match T20I series starting on Thursday. Zimbabwe has announced the strong 15-member squad for the home tour.

On this occasion, many changes have been made in the Zimbabwe T20I squad. After failing to qualify for the T20 World Cup, the selectors have sideline four players from the squad. Zimbabwe failed to qualify through African Region qualifiers where Uganda qualified for the ICC event for the first time in history.

The pacer Tendai Chatara, spinner Wellington Mazakadza, and openers innocent Kaia and Nick Welch are sidelined from the tournament. Spinners Brandon Mavuta and Tony have been recalled to the squad.

Additionally, the selectors have included two uncapped players Brian Bennett and Trevor Gwandu in the squad. The 20-year-old Brian Bennett played in List A matches for mountaineers. Due to his impressive performance in his domestic career, he was selected for the T20I series.

Craig Ervine who missed the majority of the qualifiers with a groin injury will be joining the side. The rest of the squad is filled with regular names like Sean Williams, Richards Ngarava, and Blessing Muzarabani. Sikandar Raza will be leading the side for the T20I series. All three matches starting from December 07 will be played in Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe T20I squad

Sikandar Raza (c), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Trevor Gwandu, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Brandon Mavuta, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sean Williams.