HomeCricketNewsWBBL|08: Perth Scorchers Re-signed Sophie Devine Ahead of WBBL 2022

WBBL|08: Perth Scorchers Re-signed Sophie Devine Ahead of WBBL 2022

The New Zealand allrounder Sophie Devine has been re-signed by Perth Scorchers ahead of the 2022 Women’s Big Bash League. The White Ferns superstar said the decision to re-sign for another season was a simple one.

Perth Scorchers Re-signed Sophie Devine

The New Zealand allrounder has represented the Scorchers for the past two seasons, having previously played for Adelaide Strikers, and captained the side to WBBL glory in 2021.

Commenting on committing her future to the Scorchers, Devine, who boasts 230 white-ball caps for New Zealand, said: “It was a pretty easy choice for me to come back to the mighty orange, the last two years have been pretty special.

“Winning the title last year for the first time in the club’s history is certainly motivation for me to grow something special with this group,”  Devine said in a statement.

Currently, the Scorchers have signed seven players (out of the 15 permitted) for WBBL 08, including Australian internationals Mooney and Alana King.

“We’ve got such a talented group which makes for a really exciting balance and I think getting that right is crucial to success,” Devine said.

“You can’t just rely on one or two people, it takes a full squad and that’s what we showed last year.”

Devine and fellow Kiwi Amelia Kerr (Brisbane Heat) are the only confirmed international players in the competition at this stage.

WBBL 08 squads so far

Adelaide Strikers

Darcie Brown, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Maddie Penna, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Brisbane Heat

Nicola Hancock, Ellie Johnston, Jess Jonassen, Amelia Kerr, Charli Knott, Georgia Redmayne Courtney Sippell, Georgia Voll

Hobart Hurricanes

Nicola Carey, Maisy Gibson, Amy Smith, Molly Strano, Rachel Trenaman

Melbourne Renegades

Ellen Falconer, Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb

Melbourne Stars

Nicole Faltum, Meg Lanning, Annabel Sutherland

Perth Scorchers

Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Sophie Devine, Alana King, Lilly Mills, Beth Mooney, Chloe Piparo

Sydney Sixers

Jade Allen, Nicole Bolton, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy

Sydney Thunder

Samantha Bates, Phoebe Litchfeld, Olivia Porter, Tahlia Wilson

Also read: Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 Points Table – Teams Standings Including NRR

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read