HomeCricketNewsJaydev Unadkat Named In India Squad For Bangladesh Test Series

Jaydev Unadkat Named In India Squad For Bangladesh Test Series

Left Arm Pacer Jaydev Unadkat has been added to the India Squad for the Bangladesh Test series as a replacement for the injured Mohammed Shami.

Unadkat Named In India Squad For Bangladesh Test

The Indian cricket team was scheduled to play 3 ODIs and 2 Test matches during their Bangladesh tour. India have already lost the ODI series after back o back defeats in the first two ODI matches.

The two-match Test series will be played on December 14, and December 22 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram, and Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka.

Notably, India will be playing their last Test match of the series while BCCI hosts the IPL 2023 players’ auction on December 23.

Shami has been ruled out of the 2-match Tests series which is a part of ICC WTC23 owing to a shoulder injury. In the absence of Shami, India brought in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 winning captain Jaydev Unadkat who was the highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 19 wickets in 10 games.

Jaydev Unadkat played his only Test match in 2010 against South Africa at SuperSport Park. Post his Test debut, Jaydev Unadkat has played 7 ODIs and 10 T20Is with 8 and 14 wickets under his belt.

Apart from Shami, the Indian team had been struggling with injuries to players which includes skipper Rohit Sharma, and youngsters Kuldeep Sen and Deepak Chahar who were earlier ruled out of the ODIs.

On the other hand, Bangladesh Cricket Team have handed a maiden call-up to top-order batter Zakir Hasan for the first Test against India.

India squad for 1st Test(Likely)

KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK, VC), KS Bharat (WK), Saurabh Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj and Umesh Yadav.

Bangladesh squad for the first Test

Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Anamul Haque Bijoy.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read