HomeCricketNewsTravis Head Ruled Out of Final ODI vs Sri Lanka Owing to...

Travis Head Ruled Out of Final ODI vs Sri Lanka Owing to Injury

Australia’s Travis Head has been ruled out of the final ODI match against Sri Lanka in Colombo due to a hamstring problem.

Travis Head Ruled Out of Final ODI

Head suffered a minor injury while fielding in the fourth one-day international and was ruled out of the fifth and final clash by captain Aaron Finch who didn’t know if he’d be ready for the opening Test which starts next Wednesday.

With Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc still sidelined, Head will sit out Friday’s final limited-overs match of the tour after sustaining a low-grade right hamstring injury while fielding in the fourth ODI in Colombo.

Head has been used in the outfield in the one-dayers, clocking up 26km on the heavy R.Premadasa Stadium ground over the past two matches, which contributed to the injury.

The strain is on the minor end but the Test No.5 now appears in some doubt for Wednesday’s series opener in Galle, which is less than a week away.

“It’s a bit more of a precaution, especially with where he fields,” Aaron Finch said in the presser ahead of the final ODI. “He fields in the outfield and the ground is quite heavy and he does a lot of Ks.

“I’m not sure what he’ll be like for the Tests but he’s definitely not available for tomorrow,” he added.

Meanwhile, Steven Smith (quad niggle) and Mitchell Starc (finger injury) will not return for the final ODI, with their focus shifting towards the Test series. Sri Lanka have taken an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match ODI series.

Sri Lanka vs Australia ODI Schedule

  • June 14: Australia won the first ODI by two wickets (DLS)
  • June 16: Sri Lanka won the second ODI by 26 runs (DLS)
  • June 19: Sri Lanka won third ODI by six wickets
  • June 21: Sri Lanka won the fourth ODI by four runs
  • June 24: Fifth ODI, Colombo, 09:00 AM GMT

Sri Lanka ODI squad

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Niroshan Dickwella, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Madushanka, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan

Australia ODI squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read