Hitting the Stumps Rule: Former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar had tweeted about his suggestion after England all-rounder Ben Stokes got a retrieve as the ball hit the stumps but the bails did not come off.
It is all the more surprising given the fact that Cameron Green had fired it at over 140 clicks. The ball clipped Stokes’ off-stump and landed in wicketkeeper Alex Carey’s gloves.
Sachin Tendulkar Tweet on Hitting the Stumps Rule
Sachin asked if there should be a new law called “hitting the stumps”, where the ball hits the stumps but doesn’t dislodge the bails. While tagging the former Australian spinner Shane Warne, he also reckoned the law to be fair for the bowlers as well.
“Should a law be introduced called ‘hitting the stumps’ after the ball has hit them but not dislodged the bails? What do you think guys? Let’s be fair to bowlers,” Tendulkar had tweeted tagging Warne.
Should a law be introduced called ‘hitting the stumps’ after the ball has hit them but not dislodged the bails? What do you think guys? Let’s be fair to bowlers! 😜😬😋@shanewarne#AshesTestpic.twitter.com/gSH2atTGRe
— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) January 7, 2022
Reacting to Sachin Tendulkar’s suggestion regarding introduction of a new law, which should declare the batter out if the ball hits the stumps irrespective of the bails being dislodged, the legendary Shane Warne has found the Indian batting icon’s take interesting.
Terming it a suggestion that may call for a debate, Warne said that he will forward the idea to the MCC and be up for a discussion regarding the same.
Warne replied saying: “Interesting point and one to debate my friend. I will take this to the world cricket committee for discussion and come back to you. Never seen anything like that today – Greene’s delivery was 142kph and hit the stump hard.”
Interesting point & one to debate my friend. I will take this to the world cricket committee for discussion & come back to you. Never seen anything like that today – Greene’s delivery was 142kph and hit the stump hard !!!!! 😩😂 https://t.co/GO6IeHgtsk
— Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne) January 7, 2022
However, the legendary spinner was still of the opinion that the bails needed to be dislodged. While speaking to Fox Cricket, he felt that it could turn out to be very time consuming if the rules are changed with respect to the ball just hitting the stumps. Thus, the 52-year-old said that everything will then be reviewed.
“It’s a discussion point. But I think the bails should be dislodged. I think the bails have to be dislodged. Otherwise it’s going to take too much time out of the game … do you review everything? ‘Oh hang on, that might’ve hit the stumps because you heard a noise’,” he said.
Damien Martyn Reacts
However, the suggestion did not receive approval from former Australia batter and Warne’s former teammate Damien Martyn, who replied to the ex-spinner’s tweet with a simple ‘No’.
— Damien Martyn🏏 (@damienmartyn) January 7, 2022