Temba Bavuma Ruled out of England Tour Owing to Injury

Temba Bavuma
Temba Bavuma

South Africa’s white-ball captain Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the upcoming South Africa tour of England owing to an elbow injury.

Temba Bavuma Ruled out of England Tour

In Temba Bavuma’s absence, CSA selectors have appointed David Miller and Keshav Maharaj as stand-in captains of the T20I and ODI teams respectively.

The South African selectors have offered a maiden T20I call-up to 21-year-old Gerald Coetzee while former Kolpak player Rilee Rossouw returns to the squad for the first time since the 2016 T20 World Cup.

“The T20 format is a high priority for us at the moment because of ICC T20 World Cup coming up in a few short months in Australia,” CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said.

Meanwhile, pace ace Kagiso Rabada has been rested from the ODI squad with a view to manage his workload.

“We are looking to give opportunities to players that we are interested in seeing and working out the best combinations, while also trying to balance our desire to maintain enough consistency within the set up that the players are used to playing together as a team by the time they reach Australia for the World Cup. This series will go a long way in helping us achieve all of those objectives.

“While the ODI series is not for Super League points, the 50-over format is of vital importance as we look ahead to the 2023 ICC World Cup in India. The combinations tried and the performances we yielded will go a long way in our build-up to that tournament.”

The South Africa Tour of England 2022 will kickstart from July 19 and will end in September 12. South Africa will tour England to play 3 ODI matches, 3 T20I matches, and as many as Test matches.

ODI Squad

Keshav Maharaj (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne.

T20I Squad

David Miller (c), Gerald Coetzee , Quinton de Kock , Reeza Hendricks , Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj , Aiden Markram , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw , Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen

Test Squad

Dean Elgar (c), Sarel Erwee, Marco Jansen, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Stuurman