HomeCricketNewsSA20 2023: Temba Bavuma Joins Sunrisers Eastern Cape Team

SA20 2023: Temba Bavuma Joins Sunrisers Eastern Cape Team

South African limited-overs captain Temba Bavuma has been roped in by the Sunrisers Eastern Cape team for the remainder of the SA20 league.

Temba Bavuma Joins Sunrisers Eastern Cape Team

The tournament is being played from 10 January to 11 February 2023. SuperSport, Sky Sports and Sports18 Network broadcast in South Africa, the UK and India respectively.

As per SA20 League 2023 Schedule, the first match of the tournament is scheduled to play on January 10 between MI Cape Town and Paarl Royals at Cape Town.

Bavuma was South Africa’s leading run-scorer in the recently concluded England series, with 180 runs from three matches, which was his most successful as an ODI batter. He struck a match-winning century in the second ODI, which also sealed the series, and maintained a strike rate of over 100 throughout the three matches.

Bavuma will replace Tom Abell at Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

Earlier Temba Bavuma expressed his disappointment after he went unsold in the inaugural edition SA20 auction held in September 2022.

“I felt down when I wasn’t picked in the auction. I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t have any feelings of disappointment. I certainly was expecting to get a role in the tournament. And it’s not just myself, it’s family as well who are so disappointed,” Bavuma said after going unsold at the auction.

South Africa’s head coach Mark Boucher backed his captain and said the team understood the situation around him.

“Temba is our leader, we back him 100% and you can see the energy around him, the guys understand the situation he is going through,” Boucher said.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape Team – Updated List

South Africa’s Aiden Markram also represented SRH in the IPL 2022 season and scored 381 runs in 14 matches at an average of 47.63. He scored three half-centuries for his side, with the best individual score of 68*.

S. No. Player Name Nationality
1 Aiden Markram South Africa
2 Ottneil Baartman South Africa
3 Marco Jansen South Africa
4 Tristan Stubbs South Africa
5 Sisanda Magala South Africa
6 Junaid Dawood South Africa
7 Mason Crane England
8 Jon-Jon Smuts South Africa
9 Jordan Cox England
10 Adam Rossington England
11 Roelof van der Merwe Netherlands
12 Marques Ackerman South Africa
13 James Fuller England
14 Brydon Carse England
15 Sarel Erwee South Africa
16 Aya Gqamane South Africa
17 Jordan Hermann South Africa
18 Temba Bavuma South Africa
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read