HomeCricketNewsWI vs SA Playing 11: West Indies included Mayers for Charles; Shamsi...

WI vs SA Playing 11: West Indies included Mayers for Charles; Shamsi replaced Baartman in South Africa 11

WI vs SA Playing 11: Rovman Powell-led West Indies will lock horns with Aiden Markram-led South Africa to play the 50th match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on June 24 in Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua.

West Indies have won only one of their two Super 8 games while South Africa remains unbeaten in the same. With England already qualified for the semi-finals, still only one spot left out in the group 2.

If South Africa manages to win this game, then the Proteas will qualify for the Semi-finals else West Indies will qualify for the semis as they have a better run rate than SA.

Notably, both West Indies and South Africa won all four of their group games. The teams have played 22 T20Is against each other, and each won 11 games so far. It is worth mentioning, that West Indies have lost two of the four T20Is they have played at this ground, both of them to South Africa – who have won all three they’ve played there.

Winning the toss, South African captain Aiden Markram said “Going to bowl first. Can’t see the wicket get any worse. Hoping it gets slightly better this evening. We’re in a good space. Haven’t put together a perfect game yet. The wind is really strong. Obviously the pitch has moved across. Generally a good batting wicket, gets slower as it goes on. Shamsi comes in for Baartman”.

West Indies captain Rovman Powell said “Was 50-50 with the toss. Would’ve bowled as well. We’re Caribbean guys playing in our home conditions. We should be able to adapt quickly. It’s a team we have played often over the last couple of years. Kyle Mayers comes in for Johnson Charles”.

WI vs SA Playing 11

West Indies: Kyle Mayers, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran(w), Roston Chase, Rovman Powell(c), Sherfane Rutherford, Andre Russell, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Obed McCoy

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock(w), Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read