HomeCricketNewsT20 World Cup 2024 New Zealand Squad; Williamson to lead

T20 World Cup 2024 New Zealand Squad; Williamson to lead

T20 World Cup 2024 New Zealand Squad: Cricket New Zealand announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Despite the failures in the past World Cup events, NZC backed Kane Williamson as their captain for the global event.

This will be the sixth appearance for Williamson at a T20 World Cup and fourth as skipper while Southee set for his seventh appearance at the tournament and Boult his fifth.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead believes he has selected a well-balanced squad and is confident of a strong showing in the month-long tournament.

“I’d like to congratulate everyone named today. It’s a special time representing your country at a world tournament. We expect the venues in the West Indies to offer quite varied conditions and feel we’ve selected a squad with the scope to adapt to those conditions”, Stead said.

“Matt has worked exceptionally hard on his skills across the phases of a T20 game to come back into selection consideration,” Stead was quoted as saying in an NZC release.

“Rachin has made every post a winner in the past 12 months and it was exciting to see him continue that trajectory over the summer in the T20 format against Australia,” Stead added referring to the all-rounder’s couple of big knocks at home against Australia in February.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears

New Zealand will play their first match of the tournament against Afghanistan on June 7 in Providence Stadium, Guyana.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read