HomeCricketNewsT20 WC 2024 Super 8 AUS vs BAN toss delayed due to...

T20 WC 2024 Super 8 AUS vs BAN toss delayed due to rain

The toss for the fourth Super 8 match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 between Australia and Bangladesh has been delayed due to rain. The match was scheduled to be played on June 21 in Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua.

With the coin to be spun before 30 minutes of the game, the match officials hold the event as rain started to pour. It’s not a heavy rain to push the officials to abandon the game but the drizzle delayed the toss.

Australia is in formidable form in the edition of the tournament as they remains unbeaten after playing their four group-stage matches. The game against Bangladesh will be their first match of the Super 8 round.

Bangladesh on the other side, after losing their second game against South Africa picked up two 20-odd-run wins in the next two matches but it’s their bowling that’s done the heavy lifting.

What to Expect in Sir Vivian Richards Stadium Today?

The humidity levels in Antigua have dropped quite a bit in the week. And the conditions should be rather favourable for both teams. The pitch itself, like the one in St Lucia, has come as close to being a true surface as any in the Caribbean, as we saw in the game between South Africa and the USA.

Expect a loud atmosphere with a number of Bangladeshi fans having made the trip, and a lot of other South Asian expats from North America also in town, even if their teams aren’t. The game yesterday seemed to be decided on the basis of South Africa being able to counter the crosswinds and use it to their advantage the best.

Bangladesh will need more than just good cricket skills to get past or even threaten Australia in Antigua.

Bangladesh Squad: Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das(w), Najmul Hossain Shanto(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahedi Hasan, Tanvir Islam, Shoriful Islam, Soumya Sarkar

Australia Squad: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh(c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade(w), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar, Josh Inglis, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood

CHECKAdam Zampa becomes first Australian to take 100 T20I wickets

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read