HomeCricketNewsSteve Smith to Captain Australia ODI squad against West Indies

Steve Smith to Captain Australia ODI squad against West Indies

Cricket Australia has named Steve Smith as captain for the ODI squad which is set to play a three-match series against West Indies on a home tour.

Steve Smith to Captain Australia ODI squad

West Indies is scheduled to play a test, three-match ODI and T20I in Australia starting next week. With the tour set to start on January 17, the Australian board has announced the squad for the ODI series in the West Indies Australia tour which will be led by Steven Smith.

The reigning World Champions have left Pacers Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc for the limited series which is set to start next month.

Selectors have also rested all-rounder Mitchell Marsh while Marcus Stoinis has been left out of the squad that won the World Cup title on November 2023 in India.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith (Image: Twitter)

Travis Head was named as vice-captain for the ODI series. To the surprise, Uncapped fast bowler Lance Morris has been picked in the 13-man squad and is yet to make his debut.

Jhye Richardson has been picked in the squad, but he hasn’t played for Australia since June 2022. He earned a recall following the absence of the first-choice pacers.

Nathan Ellis, all-rounder Aaron Hardie, and top-order Matthew Short have been picked as well.

“It is a little over 12 months until the Champions Trophy and further opportunities for the likes of Aaron Hardie, Matt Short, Jhye Richardson, and Nathan Ellis will be valuable both to our ongoing improvement as a team and also further their personal experiences in ODI cricket,” national selector George Bailey said.

“The squad strikes a balance between players continuing to make their mark on international cricket, playing alongside some of our most experienced players with an eye to the future in this format.”

The first ODI match between Australia and West Indies will be played on February 02 at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Australia squad for West Indies ODI series

Steve Smith (c), Travis Head (vc), Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Matt Short, Adam Zampa.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read