HomeCricketNewsSri Lanka Squad For New Zealand White Ball Series; D Chameera Ruled...

Sri Lanka Squad For New Zealand White Ball Series; D Chameera Ruled Out

Sri Lankan pace spearhead Dushmantha Chameera has been ruled out of the upcoming New Zealand white ball series owing to fitness issues.

Dushmantha Chameera Ruled Out 

During the New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka, both teams are scheduled to play 2 Tests, 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is between March 9 to April 8. New Zealand leads the Tests series with a victory in the first Test.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) confirmed that Chameera, who underwent ankle surgery, has failed to complete his rehabilitation in time for the white-ball games.

Veteran batters Angelo Mathews and Kusal have been recalled into the white-ball setup. Mathews will return to the ODI team after a two-long years after selectors named him to the squad for the ODI series against New Zealand.

To manage the workload, Perera has only been included in the T20I team. This series marks his first appearance on the international stage after a massive gap of 16 months.

Sri Lanka has also included uncapped all-rounders Lasith Croospulle and Sahan Arachchige in the white-ball squads. Dushmantha Chameera last played an ODI match on June 19, 2023 against Australia and played his last T20I match against UAE in October 2022.

CHECK: Sri Lanka Tour Of New Zealand 2023 Live Streaming For All Locations

Sri Lanka Squad For New Zealand White Ball Series

Sri Lanka ODI Squad

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana.

Sri Lanka T20I Squad

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana, Pramod Madushan.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read