HomeCricketNewsSteve Smith Named As Australia Captain For India ODI Series

Steve Smith Named As Australia Captain For India ODI Series

Australia Captain For India ODI Series: Steve Smith who led the Australian Test in the last two tests of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 will continue to lead the team in the ODI series.

Smith was Named As Australia Captain For India ODI Series

During the Australia tour of India 2023, both teams are scheduled to play 4 Tests and 3 ODIs between February 9 to March 22. India won the 4-match test series by 2-1 while the last match ended as a draw.

Pat Cummins has been named the captain of the series but left for Australia to be with his ailing mother who was in palliative care. A few days later, Cummins’ mother sadly passed away. In the pacer’s absence, Steve Smith led the Australian team in the 3rd and 4th Tests.

Speaking of the development, Australia head coach Andrew McDonald confirmed that Smith will continue to lead Australia on the India tour.

“Pat won’t be coming back, he’s still taking care of what’s happened back home,” coach Andrew McDonald said. “Our thoughts are with Pat and his family as they go through that grieving process.”

McDonald also revealed that David Warner, who has not played much ODI cricket of late, has resumed training in Ahmedabad and will return to the side after missing the last two Tests. Cricket Australia hasn’t yet named a replacement.

Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis and Mitchell Starc are expected to shoulder the pace-bowling load among themselves in the 3-match ODI series that starts on March 17.

“We’ve got a couple conversations around the balance of the team we want to play, we’ve gone in with a structure with eight batters to bat a little bit deeper, we’ve tried that,” said the coach.

“So there’ll be a mix of combinations as we lead into the World Cup. (There is) a lot of all-rounders picked in the squad and can they all play in one team? So we’ve got to answer a few of those questions.”

The first ODI match of India vs Australia will begin on March 17 in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Australia squad

Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read