HomeCricketNewsSamoa Creates History by Qualifying for ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup...

Samoa Creates History by Qualifying for ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2025

The Samoa Women’s Cricket team creates history by booking their spot at the ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2025 by clinching the top spot in the East Asia Pacific Qualifier.

Samoa Women’s Cricket team won five matches out of six they played and topped the table with a total of 10 points. Indonesia won 4 matches out of six and PNG won 3 out of 6 matches while Fiji didn’t even register a victory out of six games they played.

Samoa’s Verra Farane played a crucial role in her team’s success in this tournament. Verra Farane scored 196 runs with a top score of 79 in the first-round match against Fiji and also won the Batter of the Tournament award.

Excellent fielding and decent bowling from the likes of Silepea Polataivao, Masina Faimafili Loini Tafea and captain Avetia Fetu Mapu also allowed Samoa to restrict the opposition, and defend their scores through to the end.

There was singing in the streets of Samoa as their U19 women’s team defied the odds and booked their spot at the ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2025 following the conclusion of the East Asia Pacific Qualifier on Monday.

Captain of Samoa Avetia Fetu Mapu said: “It is a moment of immense pride for Samoa, reflecting the growth and development of women’s cricket in the region. This accomplishment not only brings attention to the sport within the country but also serves to inspire future generations of female cricketers in Samoa.

“For the team and myself, this qualification represents a significant achievement and a platform to demonstrate our skills and dedication on an international stage. It is an opportunity to connect with people and learn from others.

“Success, for me and my team, would be giving our best performance, leaving a positive impact, and perhaps even inspiring others along the way.”

ICC Tournament Director, Emily O’Brien said: “As the dust settles on the event, and Samoa emerge as champions, we celebrate not just the outcomes, but the journey of growth, camaraderie, and spirit that defined every match.

“From thrilling victories to hard-fought battles, each game showcased the resilience and determination of the best young female athletes from across the region. Congratulations to all the teams who participated, and a special salute to Samoa, who demonstrated exceptional skill and tenacity. We wish them all the very best for the World Cup.”

In an East Asia Pacific first, players from across all teams were recognised for their on-field performance as an 11-person Team of the Tournament was selected. Each player received a Kookaburra gift pack as a memento of their performance.

Player of the Tournament award winner Dika Lohia was named as the captain of the team while the players with most runs and wickets across the 12 matches has been listed to form the team.

Players were selected into the Team of the Tournament based on their individual performance.

Team of the Tournament

  1. Dika Lohia (captain, PNG) – 108 runs, 15 wickets. Also named Player of the Tournament and Bowler of the Tournament
  2. Verra Farane (Samoa) – 196 runs, also named Batter of the Tournament
  3. Lakshmi Rajadurai (PNG) – 130 runs
  4. Mele Waqanisau (Fiji) – 114 runs, 10 wickets
  5. Boio Vare (PNG) – 66 runs
  6. Avetia Fetu Mapu (Samoa) – 61 runs, 8 wickets
  7. Masina Faimafili Loini Tafea (Samoa) – 27 runs, 13 wickets
  8. Intan Yofentri Chantika Penun (Indonesia) – 12 wickets
  9. Ni Kadek Devi Murtiari (Indonesia) – 8 wickets
  10. Dadina Gaudi (PNG) – 83 runs
  11. Olive Lefage Lemoe (Samoa) – 62 runs, 7 wickets

CHECKICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule, Squad, Format

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read