HomeCricketNewsWriddhiman Saha Joins England Test Tour Squad

Wriddhiman Saha Joins England Test Tour Squad

India wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha has reportedly tested negative for coronavirus while in quarantine clearing the way for him to join the rest of the Test squad announced by the BCCI earlier this month for the England tour. Though Saha was named in the 20-man Test squad, his availability was subject to fitness.

Wriddhiman Saha joins England tour squad

According to ESPNcricinfo, Saha has been allowed to visit his family in Kolkata after spending two weeks in quarantine in Delhi. He thus will enter the Indian cricket team’s bio-bubble in the week leading up to the departure for UK.

Saha is one of the three members of the Test squad including KL Rahul and Prasidh Krishna whose availability for the tour depended on fitness. Rahul underwent surgery for appendicitis while Krishna had tested positive for coronavirus.

Last week, Saha had dispelled the rumors surrounding his health via social media. “My quarantine period is still not over. As a part of the routine check-up, 2 tests were done, out of which 1 was negative and the other one came as positive. Otherwise, I am doing much better. Requesting everyone not to spread misleading stories/information without the whole context,” he had written.

The India squad is expected to assemble in Mumbai along with their families before departing for Southampton for the WTC final. There, they will have to undergo a 10-day quarantine at a team hotel which is within the premises of Ageas Bowl. The WTC final gets underway from June 18.

India’s squad for WTC Final and England Tests

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read