HomeCricketNewsRuturaj Gaikwad Surpasses Virat Kohli in Orange Cap Race during PBKS Clash

Ruturaj Gaikwad Surpasses Virat Kohli in Orange Cap Race during PBKS Clash

The batter Ruturaj Gaikwad has overtaken Virat Kohli in the list of Most runs during CSK’s clash against Punjab Kings in IPL 2024 on May 01 at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

His knock of 62 runs in the match made him top the list of most runs taking his tally to 509 runs in 10 matches. Virat Kohli has been maintaining his top spot in the orange cap list for a long time in the season and Ruturaj Gaikwad continued to chase him in the list with his impressive knocks during the recent matches.

Currently, Ruturaj has the most fifties and most fours of the season. He has five fifties and 53 fours in 10 matches he played.

Coming to the match, Punjab Kings won the toss and opted to bowl. Ajinkya Rahane and Ruturaj Gaikwad opened for CSK where Harpreet Brar dismissed Rahane for 29 runs while Ruturaj went past crossing the 50-run mark.

Harpreet dismissed Shivam Dube on a duck while Ravindra Jadeja was sent out for 2 runs by Rahul Chahar. With the dismissal of Jadeja CSK was down to 3 wickets for 70 runs in the 10th over.

Sameer Rizvi scored 21 runs before being dismissed by Rabada in the 16th over of the match. On the other hand, Gaikwad smashed his fifty on the 2nd ball of the same over. With Gaikwad sent out on the last ball of the 18th over by Arshdeep Singh for 62 runs, MS Dhoni came to bat.

Moeen Ali scored 15 runs while MS Dhoni scored 14 runs on 11 deliveries. Finally, CSK scored 162 runs losing 7 wickets in 20 overs. With a target of 163 runs, Prabhsimran Singh and Jonny Bairstow opened for Punjab.

Richard Gleeson dismissed Prabhsimran Singh for 13 runs on a lengthy delivery which took an edge and went right into the hands of Ruturaj. Rile Rossouw joined Jonny Bairstow to cross the 50-run mark in the power play.

Jonny Bairstow scored 46 runs on 30 deliveries before being dismissed by Shivam Dube. Rile Rossouw scored 43 runs on 23 deliveries before being dismissed by Thakur while Shashank Singh scored 25* runs on 26 deliveries.

With Sam Curran’s 26 runs, Punjab Kings scored 163 runs on the 18th over and secured victory by a seven-wicket difference.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read