HomeCricketNewsRuturaj Gaikwad Ruled Out of NZ T20I Series Owing To Wrist Injury

Ruturaj Gaikwad Ruled Out of NZ T20I Series Owing To Wrist Injury

Indian opening batter Ruturaj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the upcoming India vs New Zealand T20I series. The first match of the 3-match T20I series will begin on January 27 at JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi.

Ruturaj Gaikwad Ruled Out of NZ T20I Series

Ruturaj Gaikwad suffers a wrist injury and has been reported to the National Cricket Academy on Tuesday. Ruturaj also missed the T20 series against Sri Lanka last year with a wrist injury. He found no place in India’s Playing XI against Sri Lanka this time as Shubman Gill opened with Ishan Kishan.

As per a report, “Yes, Ruturaj is in NCA with a wrist injury. we don’t know yet whether it is serious. But considering the short turnout time for the matches, it is unlikely that he will be able to make it in time. He is undergoing scans and we will know more once reports come in. We already have 4-5 openers available. But it is up to the selectors to name a replacement”.

Apart from Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson are also missing the T20 series with injuries. Iyer is currently at the NCA for a back injury. Sanju Samson is in Kochi undergoing physiotherapy for his knee injury that occurred while fielding in the 1st T20I against Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

India’s T20I squad against New Zealand

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read