HomeCricketNews"I Just Wanted To Enjoy The Tournament", Rohit On 2022 T20 World...

“I Just Wanted To Enjoy The Tournament”, Rohit On 2022 T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma who is set to lead India as a full-time captain in an ICC event says that he just wanted to enjoy the tournament and play the tournament as it was his first ever World Cup.

Rohit On 2022 T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled to kickstart on October 16 with the final match on November 13 in Australia. It might be Rohit’s first T20 World Cup as captain but he has the experience of winning a T20 World Cup title under his belt having been a part of MS Dhoni’s T20 World Champions’ squad in 2007.

It is worth mentioning that Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to win 5 titles in the Indian Premier League and remains the team to win the most number of titles in IPL history.

Rohit Sharma recalled the moment when he was picked for the inaugural edition of the tournament, that India went on to win under Dhoni’s leadership.

India wins T20 world cup in 2007
India wins T20 world cup in 2007

“When I was picked for that World Cup I did not go with any expectations about myself,” Rohit said in Melbourne while on Saturday while sitting with 15 other captains who are in Australia for the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup.

“I just wanted to enjoy the tournament and play the tournament as it was my first ever World Cup. I had no understanding of what it was like to be part of a World Cup and how big it was going to be until we actually won the World Cup,” he added.

Rohit also opened up on the way the T20 format has evolved over the years during the chat.

“It has been a long journey and the game has evolved so much,” Rohit reflected. You can literally see how it is played now compared to what it was like in 2007. 140 or 150 was a good score back then and now people try and get that score in 14 or 15 overs.”

India will play their first match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 against Pakistan on October 23 in Melbourne.

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami.

Standby Players: Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read