HomeCricketNewsPCB unlikely to include new PSL teams until completion of tenth season

PCB unlikely to include new PSL teams until completion of tenth season

The plans of the Pakistan Cricket Board to add two more franchises to the Pakistan Super League as been given up due to their agreement policies.

PCB unlikely to include new PSL teams 

Najam Sethi, the former chairman of the PCB management committee had proposed to add two new teams to the Pakistan Super League but it was dropped due to his resignation from the post. After his resignation, Zaka Ashraf was named as the new Pakistan Board Chief.

But there some rumors were spread again that some individuals were presented as new team owners in the PSL. But there is no sign or announcement that has been made on adding new teams.

The reports say that there is no possibility of increasing the number of teams in the league at the moment. The current chairman Zaka Ashraf is having issues and is not willing to make any decision without consulting the existing franchises.

Najam Sethi
Najam Sethi (Image: PCB)

An agreement was signed in 2021 between PCB and franchises that no new teams will be added to the current six teams before the completion of the 10th season. The PCB will be facing lots of problems from the court if they violate the agreement.

Due to a busy schedule, Ashraf has not been able to meet any franchise owners. He wants to assign a council meeting in the next few days to discuss the issue with team owners.

Sources have said that the current owners are having issues adding new teams to the league. One team said that they have worked hard on making the tournament a successful one and it’s not fair that new people should get the benefits. It is not possible until the 10th edition to add more teams. The agreement has already been finalized and cannot be changed.

The PSL began in 2016 and is one of the most popular T20 competitions in the world at present. Top cricketers from around the world have been consistently playing in the tournament and eight seasons were completed successfully.

Pakistan Super League is a men’s T20 cricket league that is played between six teams. The league was founded in 2015 by PCB. Out of eight leagues, Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars are the only teams that won the title twice. The current champions are Lahore Qalandars – the only team to defend its title after winning the 2023 season.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read